New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader SK Bagga has registered victory from  Krishna Nagar Vidhan Sabha seat of Delhi. The counting of votes for Krishna Nagar Assembly seat in Delhi began at 8 AM.

The Vidhan Sabha seat had witnessed a tough contest between the candidates of the Aam Aadmi Party, Bharatiya Janata Party and the Indian National Congress (INC).

In 2015, BJP’s then-CM candidate Kiran Bedi had contested from this seat and lost to AAP’s SK Bagga by about 2,000 votes.

In 2013, the constituency was won by Dr Harsh Vardhan, which is another reason why the constituency is important. In fact, BJP used to have a stronghold over this constituency from 1993 to 2015.

This time AAP had retained its winning candidate while BJP had fielded Dr Anil Goyal who was a former president of Delhi Medical Association.

Congress known face Dr Ashok Kumar Walia who represented Laxmi Nagar and Geeta Colony (before delimitation) constituencies was also in the fray.