New Delhi, May 5: The polling to Kunigal, Tumkur City, Tumkur Rural, Koratagere and Gubbi in the forthcoming Karnataka Assembly elections would be held on May 12. Counting of votes would be held on May 15. While the main battle is between the incumbent Congress and the BJP, thrown into the mix is JD(S), and SP and CPM on some seats. BSP has tied up with the JD (S) but is not likely to make a dent. The Congress has 123 seats out of the 225 seats in Vidhan Soudha.

Following are the details of Kunigal, Tumkur City, Tumkur Rural, Koratagere and Gubbi assembly constituencies:

Kunigal Assembly Constituency

D Krishnakumar of BJP is pitted against Dr HD Ranganath of the Congress, SP Laxminarayana Gowda of the SP and D Nagarajaiah of the JD (S). There are ten candidates in the running. In 2013, D Nagarajaiah had won against D Krishnakumar. It is Assembly constituency number 131.

Tumkur City Assembly Constituency

There are 13 candidates in the running in Assembly constituency number 132. The main contest is among GB Jyothi Ganesh of the BJP, Dr Rafeeq Ahmed S of the Congress and N Govindaraju of the JD (S). In 2013, Dr Rafeeq Ahmed S won against GB Jyothi Ganesh who was fielded by KJP then.

Tumkur Rural Assembly Constituency

Tumkur Rural will see the contest among B Suresh Gowda of the BJP, Rayasandra of the Congress and DC Gowrishankar of the JD (S). In 2013, B Suresh Gowda defeated DC Gowrishankar. This time, there are 12 candidates in the running from Assembly constituency number 133.

Koratagere (SC) Assembly Constituency

There are 11 candidates in the running. Incumbent PR Sudhakar Lal of JD(S) is pitted against YH Hucchaiah of the BJP  and Dr G Parameshwara of the Congress from Assembly constituency number 134. In 2013, PR Sudhakar Lal had defeated Dr G Parameshwara.

Gubbi Assembly Constituency

Here, AAP has also fielded a candidate; Prabhuswami BS. The BJP has fielded GN Bettaswamy, the Congress has K Kumar and the JD (S) SR Srinivas. There are 14 candidates in all. In 2013, SR Shrinivas of JD(S) had defeated GN Bettaswamy of KJP from Assembly constituency number 135.