Top Recommended Stories

Lalkuan: How Things Stand For Harish Rawat On A Seat That Was Won By BJP in 2017

Lalkuan Assembly Constituency In Uttarakhand Assembly Election 2017, the Lalkuan constituency was won by BJP's Naveen Chandra Dumka

Updated: January 30, 2022 8:28 AM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Rajashree Seal

Lalkuan Assembly Constituency watch
The Lalkuan Assembly constituency is scheduled to go into the polls on February 14, 2022.

Dehradun: Lalkuan Assembly constituency is one of the 70 Legislative Assembly constituencies of Uttarakhand state in India. It falls under the Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar Lok Sabha constituency and is a part of the Nainital district. The Lalkuan Assembly constituency is scheduled to go into the polls on February 14, 2022 (Monday) and counting of votes will take place on March 10 (Thursday).

Also Read:

In Uttarakhand Assembly Election 2017, the Lalkuan constituency was won by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). BJP’s Naveen Chandra Dumka won the seat by defeating Congress candidate Harish Chandra Durgapal with a margin of 27108 votes. And, in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP candidate Ajay Bhatt won from Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar Lok Sabha (MP) seat with a margin of 339096 votes by defeating Harish Rawat from the Indian National Congress.

You may like to read

Key candidates from Lalkuan Assembly Constituency

  • Harish Rawat from Indian National Congress
  • Mohan Singh Bisht from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP
  • Chandrashekar Pandey from Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)

Congress Fields its Troubleshooter Harish Rawat from Lalkuan

Congress candidate Harish Rawat was earlier given a ticket from the Ramnagar seat in Nainital, however, in a surprising move, Uttarakhand Congress did a last-minute shifting of his seat and gave him the Lalkuan seat. With a fear of disgruntled aspirants playing spoilsport against the official candidates looming large, both the Congress and the BJP have intensified their efforts to suppress the rebellion within the party ranks. And, the change of seat is also considered as a step in this direction. Rawat’s change of seat assumes significance as the party’s state-working president Ranjit Rawat, too, wanted to contest from Ramnagar. On the other hand, former cabinet minister Harish Chandra Durgapal had threatened to quit the party in protest against the Congress’ previously announced candidate for Lalkuan constituency, Sandhya Dalakoti. But, after Harish Rawat’s candidature was confirmed from Lalkuan, Durgapal said he will continue to work for the Congress and “ensure Rawat’s victory”.

Opinion Poll Predicts Harish Rawat as Most Popular CM Choice

As per an Opinion Poll conducted by Zee News-DesignBoxed, a majority of the respondents said that they wanted Harish Rawat to head the next Uttarakhand government. In the state’s Kumaun region as well, Harish Rawat emerged as the most favourite candidate for the top job with 41 per cent votes. When the respondents in Garhwal were asked whom they want to see as the next Chief Minister of Uttarakhand, 43% of participants voted for the Congress leader.


Candidate’s NamePartyLevelVotesVote Rate %Margin
Naveen Chandra DumkaBJPWinner44,29354.81%27,108
Harish Chandra DurgapalINCRunner Up17,18521.27%
Harendra Singh BoraIND3rd14,70918.20%
None Of The AboveNOTA4th1,2161.50%
Rajeev MohanBSP5th9641.19%
Purushottam SharmaCPI(ML)(L)6th7930.98%
Virendra Puri MaharajIND7th5920.73%
Chandan Singh RanaSHS8th4070.50%
Vijay JoshiIND9th2380.29%
Deepa BhattUKKD10th2240.28%
Rajender Singh BishtIND11th1910.24%


Candidate’s NamePartyLevelVotesVote Rate %Margin
Naveen Chandra DumkaBJPWinner44,29354.81%27,108
Harish Chandra DurgapalINCRunner Up17,18521.27%
Harish Chandra DurgapalINDWinner25,18937%8,848
Naveen Chandra DumkaBJPRunner Up16,34124%

Stay tuned with for all updates about the Lalkuan Vidhan Sabha (MLA) Constituency. Click Here to go to’s special Election page and read more about poll campaigns to election results, winners, losers, victory margin, and all other details.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

Published Date: January 28, 2022 3:04 PM IST

Updated Date: January 30, 2022 8:28 AM IST