Panaji, Feb 4: Goa Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar on Saturday came out and exercised his right to vote in North Goa’s Arambol. The leader is contesting Mandrem Constituency in North Goa. Also Read - UP Panchayat Election 2021: Third Phase of Polling in Meerut, Moradabad, Jalaun And Others on Monday

The BJP leader, while speaking to the media, after casting his vote said, “We will win with complete and comfortable majority, will continue development work and most importantly job creation.” Also Read - Cop Takes Care of Baby While Mother Casts Vote in Tamil Nadu, Heartfelt Picture Goes Viral

Also Read - Jammu and Kashmir DDC Polls: Fifth Phase of Voting Begins in 37 constituencies, 299 Candidates in Fray

In Goa Assembly elections 2017, the outcome for political parties will be decided by the turnout of the voters. The state has 40 Assembly seats where polling kickstarted on Saturday and there are 250 candidates who are contesting for these seats.

Apart from Parsekar, Union Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar cast his vote at a polling station in Goa’s Panaji. He was quoted as saying that the state will see a heavy voter turnout. “Goa might cross last years turnout of 84% & BJP will win with 2/3rd majority,” he said.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has urging people of Punjab and Goa to turnout in record numbers and vote in Assembly elections. “I particularly urge my young friends to vote,” he said.

Aam Aadmi Party has fielded its Chief Ministerial Candidate Elvis Gomes to contest Cuncolim constituency in south Goa. The elections in the state have turned interesting with the entry of sacked ex RSS state Chief Subhash Velingkar who floated his political outfit, Goa Suraksha Manch. He has forged an alliance with Shiv Sena and Maharashtravadi Gomantak Mandal to take on Bharatiya Janta Party.

In Goa, the key parties in the fray are the BJP, AAP, Congress and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party. Apart from BJP, Congress and AAP, a new front has been seen emerging in Goa. A three-party alliance, that includes Shiv Sena, Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party and Goa Suraksha Manch, has also laid solid groundwork for the polls.

The voting in Goa will be conducted in single phase and the counting for the same will be held on March 11.