Patna, November 8: Counting of votes in the crucial Bihar Assembly elections 2015 began on Sunday. The results will be available live on DD news channel from 8 AM. The election is a big prestige battle for both the BJP-led NDA alliance and the Grand Alliance of RJD, JD(U) and Congress. The exit polls have predicted results in favour of the Nitish Kumar-Lalu Prasad combine while couple of exit polls have gone in favour of NDA alliance.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made for counting on Sunday at 39 centres across Bihar for counting of votes polled in the five-phased assembly elections, officials said on Saturday. Counting of votes polled for 243 assembly seats will begin at 8 a.m. and the first trends will be available from 9 a.m. onwards, sources in the Bihar chief electoral officer’s office said. (ALSO READ: Bihar Assembly Election Results 2015 Live Updates)

State’s Additional Chief Electoral Officer R. Lakshmanan said the first result was expected after 11 a.m. The entire process was likely to be completed by 5 p.m. One observer would be posted at each counting centre to oversee the process, he said. According to the Election Commission, around 60 percent of the over 66.8 million voters exercised their franchise to decide the fate of 3,450 candidates, including 272 women. A record turnout of women voters was witnessed in all five phases.

Watch the live streaming of Bihar Assembly Election Results 2015 below: