Live Updates

  • 5:00 PM IST

    OP Birla Ji is an old friend. I felt very good that he has been selected as NDA’s candidate for Lok Sabha speaker. He has earlier served as treasurer of Indian Parliamentary Group. I have faith that he will handle his responsibilities at Lok Sabha very well,, says former LS Speaker Sumitra Mahajan

  • 4:59 PM IST

  • 4:58 PM IST

    Congress MP from UP’s Rae Bareli, Sonia Gandhi takes oath as Member of Parliament, amidst desk-thumping applauds by the Opposition.

  • 3:35 PM IST

    BJP’s newly elected MP from Gorakhpur, Ravi Kishan takes oath as the Member of Parliament.

  • 3:35 PM IST

  • 3:05 PM IST

  • 3:03 PM IST

    UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi takes oath in Hindi, gets loud applause.

  • 2:42 PM IST

    Hema Malini, Member of Parliament from Mathura constituency, takes oath amid ‘radhe radhe’ chants.

  • 2:38 PM IST

    Ruckus in Lok Sabha after an MP from Uttar Pradesh said he won’t chant ‘Vande Mataram’ as it is against the Islam.

  • 2:27 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Session Resumes

New Delhi: The chairperson of United Progressive Alliance (UPA) and former Congress president Sonia Gandhi will swear-in as Member of Parliament today. In 2014, the Lok Sabha secretariat had made an exception for the former Congress president to take oath after the ministers to reflect her seniority, but no special gesture was extended this time.

BJP Rajasthan MP Om Birla Set to become Lok Sabha Speaker

Yesterday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and all Union ministers took the oath followed by MPs including Congress president, Rahul Gandhi, in alphabetical order of states.

Union Minister and Member of Parliament from Amethi constituency, Smriti Irani received the longest applause while she took the oath.

Before the first session of 17th Lok Sabha, Prime Minister Modi addressed the media and asked the opposition to actively speak and participate in House proceedings without bothering about their numbers.

He also said that there are new hopes and dreams with the beginning of the session as this Lok Sabha elections saw the highest number of women voters and women MPs.

Prime Modi requested all parties to support the decisions of the government which are in favour of people and said that the party will try to uphold the dignity of the house in these five years.

He pointed out that “after several decades, a government has won an absolute majority for the second term. People have given us the chance to serve the country again. I request all the parties to support the decisions that are in favour of people.”

Paksh, vipaksh se zada nishpaksh ka spirit mehtv rakhta hai. Hum aane wale 5 saloon ke liye is sadan ki garima ko upar uthane ka prayas karenge,” said PM Modi.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Member of Parliament Virendra Kumar took oath as pro tem Speaker of 17th Lok Sabha, at Rashtrapati Bhawan.

Election of the Speaker will take place on June 19.