New Delhi: The Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party have reached an understanding for the coming Lok Sabha elections where both the parties would be contesting three seats each. Of the seven seats in Delhi, the remaining one has been left for former BJP leader Yashwant Sinha, sources confirmed to DNA. Sinha will contest as an Independent, the daily reported. (Also read: ‘No Need For Insignificant Force Like Congress,’ Says Akhilesh on Tie-up With BSP)

A source told the daily that both the parties had been holding talks for the past three months. However, he said, the decision to contest only from three seats has “irked state Congress president Ajay Maken and triggered his resignation from the post”.

In the Assembly elections of 2015, AAP bagged 67 of the 70 seats and the remaining three went to the BJP; the Congress could not even open its account. Maken had been working on reviving the party that had ruled Delhi for a good 15 years under Sheila Dikshit.

If sources are to be believed, AAP will contest on South, East and North East constituencies with Dilip Pandey, Atishi Marlena and Raghav Chadha as its candidates. The Congress will field its candidates from West, North West and Chandni Chowk.

Sources also said that the two parties were finalising a seat-sharing deal for Lok Sabha elections in three other states – Rajasthan, Haryana and Punjab.

Meanwhile, Congress leaders declined to comment on the alliance. However, one leader, preferring anonymity, said ground workers weren’t in favour of an alliance with any party. The daily also could not get a comment from AAP despite repeated calls and messages seeking their version.

Sources in AAP said HS Phoolka, the lawyer has been fighting for justice for victims of 1984 anti-Sikh violence, resigned from the party over the decision of an alliance with the Congress.