Bengaluru: Actor Prakash Raj will contest Lok Sabha Elections 2019 as Independent candidate from Bengaluru Central constituency. Taking to Twitter, he thanked the people for their warm and encouraging response to his political entry, which he had announced on January 1.Also Read - Dilip Kumar Dies: Akshay Kumar, Ajay Devgn Lead The Tributes on Twitter | Check Celeb Tweets

“#2019 PARLIAMENT ELECTIONS.Thank you for the warm n encouraging response to my new journey.. I will be contesting from BENGALURU CENTRAL constituency #KARNATAKA as an INDEPENDENT..will share the Details with the media in few days..#citizensvoice #justasking in parliament too…” he tweeted. Also Read - KGF 2 Release Date Out: Yash Aka Rocky Bhai, Sanjay Dutt as Adheera Set to Rule Screens on THIS Date

Also Read - KGF Chapter 2: Yash Resumes Shooting of The Film From Tomorrow, Shoot To Wrap Up By October End

Along with the post, Prakash Raj shared a picture of himself with a diagram of eight Assembly constituencies that come under Bengaluru Parliamentary seat.

The actor is known for his anti-BJP stance. He had claimed that he stopped getting offers from Bollywood when he became openly critical of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led government at the Centre. The 2019 general elections are due to be held in April or May to constitute the seventeenth Lok Sabha.

The Bengaluru Central seat is currently held by Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) PC Mohan. He has been holding the seat since 2009, when the parliamentary constituency was carved out from Bengaluru north and south. Mohan had defeated the Congress candidate by over 40,000 in 2014 general elections.