Pune: BJP President Amit Shah is aiming for at least 45 of the 48 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra. Addressing party workers in Pune, Shah also reportedly said that Baramati, the stronghold of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) chief Sharad Pawar, should be among those 45 seats. (Also read: ‘BJP Has Defeated These Oppn Parties on Their Home Turf,’ Says Shah)Also Read - BJP Releases First List of Candidates For Uttarakhand Elections, CM Dhami to Contest From Khatima | Full List

“In Maharashtra, if our alliance wins less than 45 seats, it will not be deemed a victory,” Shah said at a review meeting for three constituencies of Pune, Baramati and Shirur. Also Read - UP Election 2022: BJP Plays Master Stroke Against Akhilesh Yadav With Joining Of Aparna Yadav; Watch Video

However, what would be worth watching out for would be whether the Sena and the BJP go to polls together. Also Read - UP Election 2022: Zee Opinion Poll Out On UP Assembly Election 2022, Yogi Adityanath Stands Out To Be Top Choice Of UP Voters; Watch Video

“I want my party workers to win me 45 seats from the state, and to achieve that we will have to win the Baramati seat. If we win Baramati, the number 45 can be achieved,” he said.

Baramati is currently represented by Pawar’s daughter Supriya Sule. “Not a single seat should go to the people who were involved in corruption in Maharashtra… not a single seat should be left to the people who talk about human rights of immigrants,” the BJP president said.

State BJP chief Raosaheb Danve expressed confidence that they would win 43 seats, one more than in 2014.

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis said the BJP was ready to fight elections alone. “We are ready to fight on all 48 seats with full strength… the 43rd seat Danve talks about is Baramati,” he said.

Last time, Rashtriya Samaj Paksh leader Mahadev Jankar, an NDA ally, lost from Baramati by a small margin, he said, adding, “Had there been the lotus symbol, we would have won Baramati. This time, we will not make that mistake. Our candidate will fight on the party symbol.”