New Delhi: The Congress party has left seven Lok Sabha seats for SP-BSP and RLD alliance in Uttar Pradesh where 80 seats are at stake. “We are leaving 7 seats vacant for SP, BSP and RLD. These include Mainpuri (from where Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav is contesting), Kannauj, Firozabad and whatever seats Mayawati ji and RLD’s Jayant ji and Ajit Singh contest from. We will also give two seats to Apna Dal – Gonda and Pilibhit,” UP Congress chief Raj Babbar said while addressing a press conference.

Furthermore, he asserted that the Congress party would chalk out a plan to work with Mahan Dal as they have agreed to contest on Congress symbol.  “We had talked to Mahan Dal earlier. They had said they were fine with whatever seats we give them, all they wanted was to contest Vidhan Sabha election. For Lok Sabha elections they had said they’ll contest on our symbol. We’ll find out a way to work with them,” Babbar added.

The Congress leader also informed that the grand old party has reached an agreement on seven seats with the Jan Adhikar Party. “We have reached an agreement on 7 seats with Jan Adhikar party (JAP), out of those 7, JAP will fight on 5 and we will fight on 2,” Babbar said.

The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 will kick start on April 11 and Uttar Pradesh will go to polls during all seven phases. The counting of votes will be done on May 23.