New Delhi: The Congress on Thursday released first list of 15 candidates for upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2019. UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and party president Rahul Gandhi will contest the polls from Rae Bareli and Amethi, respectively.

The names of 11 candidates from Uttar Pradesh and four from Gujarat were decided upon at a meeting of the Congress’s central election committee chaired by Rahul Gandhi.

The party has fielded former union ministers Salman Khurshid, Jitin Prasad and RPN Singh from their traditional seats of Farrukhabad, Dhaurahra and Kushi Nagar in Uttar Pradesh, respectively. Meanwhile, former UP Congress chief Nirmal Khatri will contest from Faizabad. (ALSO READ – We Don’t Operate as Per PM’s Schedule: EC Responds to ‘Delay’ in Announcing Lok Sabha Poll Date)

In Gujarat, Bharatsinh Solanki, the party’s ex-chief of the state unit, has been fielded from Anand constituency and Prashant Patel will contest the general elections from Vadodara.

Full list of 15 candidates announced by Congress for Lok Sabha Elections 2019:

With Sonia Gandhi’s name announced from Rae Bareli, all the speculations over her retirement from politics have been put to rest.

The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 are to be held in the months of April-May. The schedule for the same is likely to be announced by the Election Commission of India (ECI) by Tuesday, March 12, a senior functionary of the poll body told PTI earlier today.