Mumbai: Ending all speculation over his role in active politics, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) chief Sharad Pawar has declared that he will contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections even as others from his family will not. Also Read - Lockdown in Maharashtra Soon? Read Ajit Pawar's Warning as State Logs Highest Single-day COVID Count

Speaking to mediapersons in Pune on Tuesday, Pawar said, “Ajit Pawar is not going to contest the election, Parth Pawar is not going to contest, Rohit Pawar is not going to contest. Sharad Pawar is going to contest.” Also Read - Maharashtra Govt, Anil Deshmukh Move SC Against High Court Order Directing CBI Probe Against Ex-Minister

Pawar said so while answering a question on him allegedly promoting dynastic politics in the region. Pawar’s nephew Ajit is already a member of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly and there were reports that his son Parth may join active politics too. Also Read - Anil Deshmukh's Resignation: BJP Expects The Issue to be Investigated Fairly, Says Ravi Shankar

Talking about the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance, which came up with its seat-share formula for the elections only recently, Pawar said it was up to the people to decide its fate. “There was an atmosphere in the last few months where there was a heated exchange of words between them. Today, they are standing together, wanting to send a message of unity. People of Maharashtra can understand their strategy. They will think and take the step,” said Pawar.

Pawar wasn’t sparing of Prime Minister Narendra Modi for not being present at the all-party meeting called in the wake of the Pulwama terror attack. He said, “An all-party meeting was called by centre after Pulwama Attack. We were told the meeting has been called by the PM. When I reached there, I saw that PM was not there. He should have been there but he found it more important to criticise us in rallies in Dhule and Yavatmal.”

During the 2014 general elections, the Rahul Gandhi-led Congress had fielded candidates for 27 constituencies in Maharashtra, while the Pawar-led NCP had contested on 21 seats.