Patna (Bihar): Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) chief Upendra Kushwaha and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) chief Ram Vilas Paswan on Thursday rejected the Bharatiya Janata Party‘s 50-50 seat sharing formula in Bihar for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, making it clear that they want to contest on the same number of seats as in 2014 polls.Also Read - After Criticism, Bihar Plans Major Changes In Its Liquor Prohibition Law. Here's What New Law Proposes

After the speculations that the BJP and JD(U) would contest on the 34 of the 40 seats in Bihar, leaving the rest for the LJP and the RLSP, LJP’s Bihar unit chief Pashupati Paras dismissed the rumours that his party and the RLSP are likely to make sacrifices to make way for the saffron party and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar contest on an equal number of seats, as agreed. Also Read - Parliamentary Panel Chairperson Urges Amit Shah To Take Action Against Hate Speech

“No seat-sharing talks will be complete until national presidents of all the four NDA alliance partners — BJP, JD(U), LJP and RLSP — sit together. That is yet to happen. All that is appearing in the media is hawa hawai (kite flying)”, Paras, younger brother of Paswan, said. He further added that his party would like to contest on at least seven seats like that in 2014. Also Read - 'Bhabhi Ji' BJP Me Hai: Who Is Aparna Yadav, Mulayam's Choti Bahu Who Dumped SP to Join Saffron Brigade

The BJP had won 22 seats in Bihar in the 2014 election, while Union minister Ram Vilas Paswan’s LJP had contested on seven and won six. His colleague Upendra Kushwaha’s RLSP had won three seats.

“We had won six of the seven from which we had contested last time and lost one by a slender margin of 7,000 votes. Our graph has not gone down since the last Lok Sabha poll and there is no reason why we should not get our due share,” he said. When asked about the agreement between Nitish Kumar and BJP chief Amit Shah, he said that the 50-50 is “nothing” and could mean anything.

“The 50-50 formula could mean anything. It could even imply that the BJP and the JD(U) would be fighting only 10 each, leaving the remaining 20 for other allies,” he said. While LJP demands to contest on at least seven seats, the RLSP, on the other hand, insisted that it would not accept a share of fewer than three seats.

Earlier, Minister of State for HRD Upendra Kushwaha had rejected the BJP’s 20-20 formula for Bihar, saying that he doesn’t play cricket and doesn’t understand this formula. “I have never played 20-20 cricket in my life and am neither interested to play it now. Instead, I would love to play gilli danda,” Kushwaha was quoted as saying.

Under the BJP’s 20-20 formula in Bihar for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, the saffron party was keen on contesting 20 of the state’s 40 seats, while leaving 12 seats for JD(U), six for Ram Vilas Paswan’s LJP and two for Upendra Kushwaha’s RLSP.