Lucknow: The Samajwadi Party (SP) on Friday evening released the second list of candidates for upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2019. The party has fielded SP chief Akhilesh Yadav’s wife Dimple Yadav from Kannauj, while Poorvi Varma and Usha Varma will be contesting the polls from Kheri and Hardoi.

Dimple Yadav was fielded from Kannauj constituency in 2014 Lok Sabha polls and 2012 by-elections. She had emerged victorious both the times.

SP’s second list with three names comes a few hours after the party had announced first list of six candidates for general elections, which fielded Mulayam Singh Yadav from Mainpuri. Besides, it also named Dharmendra Singh from Badaun, Akshay Yadav from Faridabad, Kamlesh Katheria from Etahwah, Shabbir Valmiki from Behraich and Bhai Lal from Robertsganj.

Dharmendra Singh is Mulayam Singh’s nephew whereas, Akshay Yadav is his brother Ram Gopal Yadav’s son.

Meanwhile if media reports are to be believed, Akhilesh Yadav is likely to contest the Lok Sabha polls from Azamgarh, which is currently held by his father. Mulayam Yadav had contested from Azamgarh and Mainpuri in 2014 general elections and had won both.

The names of nine candidates were announced by the Samajwadi Party a day after the Congress released its first list of 15 candidates from Gujarat and Uttar Pradesh, fielding UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi from Rae Bareli and Congress President Rahul Gandhi from Amethi.

The Samajwadi Party is contesting the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 in alliance with Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). As per the seat-sharing arrangement, the former will contest 37 while the latter will be fighting it out on 38 seats. In 2014, the SP had won just 5 out of 80 seats.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 are likely to be held in the months of April and May. The Election Commission of India (ECI) is likely to announce the poll schedule by Tuesday, a senior functionary of the commission was quoted by PTI as saying on Thursday.