New Delhi: The Election Commission (EC) on Sunday announced the poll schedule for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019, which will be held in seven phases starting from April 11 and conclude with counting on May 23 for all phases.

Lok Sabha elections 2019 State-wise Schedule: Check When Your State is Voting 

The first phase of polling will be held on April 11, second phase on April 18, third phase on April 23, fourth phase on April 29, fifth phase on May 6, sixth phase on May 12 and seventh phase on May 19.

The Lok Sabha polls will be held in 91 constituencies across 20 states in phase 1, 97 constituencies across 13 states in phase 2, 115 constituencies across 14 states in phase 3, 71 constituencies across 9 states in phase 4, 51 constituencies across seven states in phase 5, 59 constituencies in seven states and 59 constituencies in eight states.

Total 22 states, including all union territories will go to poll in single phase- Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Punjab, Sikkim, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Andaman Niccobar, Dadra and Nagar haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshdweep, Delhi, Pondicherry, Chandigarh.

Four states will be going to polls in two phases- Karnataka, Manipur, Rajasthan and Tripura, whereas, two states will go to polls in three phases- Assam and Chhattisgarh. The states going to polls in four phases are Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha. Jammu and Kashmir alone will hold polls in five phases. No state will hold polls in six phases only Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal will hold it in seven phases.


All state Assembly elections in the states of Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh will be held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha polls 2019.

While the polling in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim will be held on April 11 and votes will be cast in Odisha on April 11, 18, 23 and 29. The counting of votes and the results will be announced on May 23.


The Election Commission (EC) announced that only parliamentary elections will be held in Jammu and Kashmir and not the state Assembly election. Jammu and Kashmir has been under the Governor’s rule since June 2018, when then-Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti’s People’s Democratic Party (PDP) ended its alliance with BJP.

The Model Code of Conduct, which lays down the dos and don’ts ahead of the elections has come into effect. Among other things, the code bars the government from announcing policy decisions. On this CEC Sunil Arora emphasized, “Any violation of the Model Code of Conduct will be dealt in the strictest manner.”

The election will see about 900 million voters, up from 814.5 million in 2014, when Narendra Modi led the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) to power ending a decade of Congress-headed UPA rule. Of this, some 15 million will be first-time voters in the age group of 18 to 19 years.

Approximately 10 lakh polling stations, one lakh more than in 2014, will be set up and a total of 17.4 lakh VVPATs will be used with electronic voting machines (EVMs) in all polling stations, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sunil Arora said in a press conference held at Vigyan Bhavan.

“The Election Commission has attempted a very comprehensive preparation for the conduct of the election”, he said. “The panel believes that purity of electoral roll is the foundation of fair elections,” Arora added.


  • There will be photographs of candidates on all EVMs.
  • 10 per cent more voting booths this time and all with VVPATS.
  • IT giants such as Google and Facebook promise action against hate speech.
  • cVIGIL, a citizen app, will help public reach out to the Election Commission to report on any malpractices being carried out during the polling process. Special observers will overlook polling insensitive areas.
  • In addition, a high-powered committee will look into complaints against EVMs.
  • Usage of loudspeakers prohibited at night between 10 pm and 6 am.
  • Candidates with criminal history will be required to furnish all necessary information.
  • A voter’s guide is being handed to every household. There will be a NOTA option available for voters.

The Election Commission (EC) has appointed three former civil servants Amarjit Singh Gill (IPS 1972 Batch, Former DG, CRPF), Noor Mohammad (IAS 1977), and Vinod Zutshi (IAS 1982) as special observers for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections in Jammu & Kashmir.