New Delhi: Days after Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati announced their alliance for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019, former Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Shivpal Yadav on Saturday said this alliance is a “mismatch”. Also Read - Samajwadi Party Will Support Mamata Banerjee's TMC In Upcoming West Bengal Polls, Confirms Akhilesh Yadav

He alleged that the leaders of the two parties were unreliable. Addressing a function in Ballia district of Uttar Pradesh, “Both party leaders have betrayed the SP patron Mulayam Singh Yadav.”  (Also read: RLD Demands Five Seats to Join Alliance) Also Read - Tandav Row Heats Up: Mayawati Demands Removal of Objectionable Scenes, Says ‘Don’t Spoil Environment’

He also hit out at Akhilesh Yadav saying that he had not only deceived his father but the Congress party also. “After forming the government with the Samajwadi Party in 1993, the BSP had betrayed Mulayam Singh in merely 17 months,” Shivpal Yadav said recalling her association with the BJP in the past. (Opposition Joining Hands to Form ‘Majboor’ Sarkar, Says PM Modi) Also Read - "It’s BJP’s Vaccine, Can’t Trust…Won’t Take The Shot," Says SP Chief Akhilesh Yadav

He also claimed, “Backbiters and sycophants have brought the party to a situation where senior leaders are parting ways with it”.

He accused SP Rajya Sabha member Ram Gopal Yadav of damaging the party and blamed him for the SP’s defeat in Lok Sabha and Assembly elections. Shivpal Yadav had floated Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (PSP) after parting ways with the SP.

Earlier, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh had also mocked the coalition asking, “Have they forgotten what happened in 2017 Assembly polls?’ Notably, the Home Minister was referring Samajwadi Party’s unsuccessful electoral tie-up with Congress in the 2017 Uttar Pradesh assembly elections.

On January 12, arch rivals BSP and SP had announced that they would contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections together in Uttar Pradesh. The parties would share 38 seats each of the total 80 parliamentary constituencies in the state. The parties kept Congress out of the alliance but said they would not field candidates in Amethi and Rae Bareli, represented by Congress president Rahul Gandhi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi respectively. The alliance left two more seats for smaller allies.

In 2014, the BJP had won 71 seats in Uttar Pradesh, which sends the largest number of MPs to the Lok Sabha. BJP ally Apna Dal bagged two. The SP won five seats and the Congress two, while the BSP drew a blank.

(With PTI inputs)