Ludhiana, Feb 27: The Congress on Tuesday swept the Ludhiana Municipal Corporation Elections 2018, winning on 62 wards out of 95. The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) – Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) combine was distant second with wins on 21 wards while the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) – Lok Insaf Party (LIP) combine couldn’t attain double figures. Independent candidates won on four wards. The mayoral seat went to the Congress with the party winning comfortable majority. (Full ward-wise list of winners of Ludhiana MC Polls)Also Read - Rahul Gandhi Holds 75-Year-Old Siddaramaiah's Hand For a Run; This Is What Happened Next | WATCH

Even as the BJP and SAD accused the Congress of booth capturing, the winning party celebrated with dhols and sweets outside the nine counting centres across Ludhiana. With this win, it was another victory added to the Congress’s kitty after having won the Jalandhar, Patiala and Amritsar Municipal Corporation elections earlier last year. (Here is the complete list of Congress winners) Also Read - Adipurush in Trouble After BJP Slams Director For ‘Misrepresentation of Ramayana’

The victory also comes at a time when the Congress government in the state led by Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh completes a year in power in Punjab. The Congress dismissed all allegations of booth capturing, calling the Opposition “sore losers”. Congress’s Ludhiana MP Ravneet Singh Bittu said that the party winning election proved that people were happy with the past one year of the Amarinder Singh government. Also Read - Rahul Braves Heavy Rain In Mysuru As Bharat Jodo Yatra Enters Karnataka | 10 Points

The AAP won on just one ward while its ally LIP won seven wards. In the BJP-SAD combine, the SAD won 11 seats while BJP won 10.

Voting for the 95-ward Ludhiana Municipal Corporation was held on February 24, with about 60 per cent voter turnout recorded. However, with voting being marred by incidents of violence at some booths, repolling was held here on Monday, February 26.