New Delhi: Congress President Rahul Gandhi on Friday attacked Prime Minister Narendra Modi over demonetisation by terming it as the “biggest scam” in the country and also attacked the BJP government in the poll-bound Madhya Pradesh over corruption and unemployment.

Addressing an election rally in Sagar district of Madhya Pradesh, Gandhi scion that said during the note ban exercise of 2016, Modi made hundreds of thousands of labourers, women and small businessmen stand in serpentine queues outside banks.

“Did you see any black money hoarders like Nirav Modi or Mehul Choksi queuing up?” asked Gandhi. “Through the note ban, Modi snatched the hard earned money of the poor and put them in his cronies’ pockets.

He further said, “All the policies Congress party has implemented for the people is not a gift. It belongs to people. Today, Modi govt is stealing them away from people. We will give back what is yours.”

“In the last two years, unemployment has doubled and the suicide rate among the youth has increased by 2,000 per cent. China creates 50,000 jobs per day, whereas, despite ‘Start Up India’ and ‘Make in India’ schemes, the Indian government creates only 450 jobs in a day,” the Congress leader said.

Targeting Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Gandhi said that entire Madhya Pradesh knows the role of Chouhan and his family in the Vyapam scam. “Over 100,000 government posts in the state were lying vacant while schools and hospitals were privatized and making them inaccessible to the poor,” Gandhi added.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be attending a public meeting in Shahdol district of poll-bound Madhya Pradesh. He will also attend alternative rallies starting from Friday. After the rally in Shahdol, PM Modi will be in Gwalior to address another rally before flying back to Delhi.

Voting for Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections 2018 will be held on November 28. The counting of votes is scheduled for December 11. The tenure of the 230-member state Assembly ends on January 7, 2019. The BJP has been in power in the state since 2003 and is seeking a fourth straight term.

The Election Commission (EC) had announced dates for the Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Mizoram, and Telangana Assembly elections 2018 in October.