Live Updates

Madhya Pradesh Assembly Election 2018The Zee News Maha exit poll for Madhya Pradesh, which witnessed voting on November 28, is expected to be out on December 7 after 5.30 PM. The state is witnessing a tough contest between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress. A total of 74.61 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the single-phase election on 230 Assembly seats.

There are 230+1 (nominated) assembly constituencies in the state ruled by the BJP. The Indian National Congress (INC) is the main Opposition in the state. Shivraj Singh Chouhan has been the Chief Minister of the state since December 12, 2008.

Hoping for an anti-incumbency wave, the Congress has fielded Arun Yadav, former Union minister and former chief of state Congress, against Chouhan. The BSP has 227 candidates, SP has 51 candidates. AAP has also fielded 208 candidates this time around.

Rahul has held 21 rallies across the state while BJP’s Amit Shah has held 25 rallies. Madhya Pradesh has 230 Assembly seats and the majority mark is 116 seats. In 2013, assembly elections, BJP won 165 seats, Congress got 58 seats and BSP got a paltry four seats.

Various opinion polls have projected a neck-and-neck battle between the BJP and the Congress in the Assembly election. Of the 230 seats currently, the BJP holds 166, the Congress 57, the BSP 4 and Independent one. One member would be nominated, taking the total strength of the House to 231.

The tenure of Madhya Pradesh Assembly ends on January 7, 2019. The counting of votes in the state will be held on December 11, along with four other states – Mizoram, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Rajasthan.