Bhopal: Madhya Pradesh went to polls on November 28 in a single phase election.  Exit polls show the state is headed for a hung Assembly with no party getting a clear majority. The state registered a record 75 per cent voter turnout for the state Assembly polls that was marred by complaints of faulty EVMs.

As per Zee news, the Congress would get 109 seats while the BJP would net 112.

As per Aaj Tak-Axis exit poll, the Congress is likely to win 113 seats, BJP is speculated to stand victorious on 111 seats while the BSP will fail to make a mark and Others will get six seats.

As per Times Now-CNX exit poll, the BJP will gain majority in the state against the Congress. It is speculated to win 126 seats while the Congress may grab 89 seats. The BSP seems poised to win 6 seats while others get 9 seats.

According to Republic-C Voter, the Congress would get 105 seats while the BJP would get 118 seats. Others will win from 7 seats.

Only ABP-CSDS has predicted 126 seats for the Congress and 94 for the BJP.

While the BJP is looking for a fourth straight term, it is in a tough battle with a resurgent Congress which is eyeing a comeback after 15 years.

Voters turned out in large numbers in three constituencies in Naxal-affected Balaghat district with the tally being 75.05 per cent in Baihar, 79.07 per cent in Lanjhi and 80.05 per cent in Paraswada, officials said.

Polling in the state was marred by complaints of faulty Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVVPAT) machines.

The main contest is between the BJP and the Congress but there are other parties in the fray; the Bahujan Samaj Party, alliance partners Samajwadi Party and Gondwana Gantantra Party, and the Aam Admi Party.

Madhya Pradesh is the largest of five states going to polls and contributes the largest number of MPs to the Lok Sabha (29) among them.

The BJP is contesting all the 230 seats, while the Congress has fielded 229 candidates, leaving one seat, Jatara in Tikamgarh district, for its ally – Sharad Yadav’s Loktantrik Janata Dal (LJD).

Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, in office since 2005, is seeking re-election from Budhni in Sehore district.

The BSP has fielded 227 candidates, while the SP is contesting on 52 seats. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), contesting the Madhya Pradesh elections for the first time, has fielded 208 candidates.

While Chouhan is fighting the strong anti-incumbency factor in the state, he is banking on the several welfare schemes launched by his government that include the Sambal Yojana, PM Housing Scheme and Ladli Laxmi Yojana.