Bhopal: Ahead of the Madhya Pradesh Assembly Election 2018, Union Minister Smriti Irani took a swipe at Congress saying that the party disrespected women and considered them only as an object. Irani said that a vote in favor of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will register a vote against Congress that considers women as an ‘ornament’. Also Read - Smriti Irani Stitches Face Masks at Home, Encourages Others to Follow Lockdown Guidelines And Help The Needy

While addressing a gathering in Bhopal’s Ibrahim Ganj, Irani said, “On 28th when you’ll vote for BJP, you’ll vote against a Congress that considers women as just an ornament. The vote will be against the culture of Congress that makes low-level remarks against women.” Also Read - Smriti Irani Initiates Twitter Antakshari During Janata Curfew, Calls Karan Johar's 'Lag Jaa Gale' Wrong Song

On Wednesday, the BJP expelled at least 53 candidates in Madhya Pradesh who had refused to withdraw their nominations before the deadline was over.

The BJP has released three lists of the candidates till now for the upcoming Madhya Pradesh Assembly Election 2018. On the other hand, the Congress has announced a total of 213 candidates for the Assembly polls in the state. The party had announced its first list on November 3.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) released the third list of 32 candidates for upcoming Madhya Pradesh Assembly Election 2018, fielding party leader Kailash Vijayvargiya’s son Akash Vijayvargiya from Indore-3. With this, the party has announced the names of 226 candidates for Assembly polls in the state. On November 5, the party had released the second list of 17 candidates, fielding Lok Sabha member Anoop Mishra, who is the nephew of former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, and two women nominees.

Earlier on November 3, the party had released the first list of 177 candidates for Madhya Pradesh elections while declaring that Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan would contest from Budhni. The party fielded ministers Narottam Mishra and Yashodhara Raje Scindia from Datia and Shivpuri respectively.

Voting for Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections 2018 will be held on November 28. The counting of votes is scheduled for December 11. The tenure of the 230-member state Assembly ends on January 7, 2019. The BJP has been in power in the state since 2003 and is seeking a fourth straight term.

The Election Commission (EC) had announced dates for the Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Mizoram, and Telangana Assembly elections 2018 in October.