New Delhi: Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath will expand his cabinet on Tuesday. The new ministers will be administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor at the Governor House. The oath ceremony is expected to be held at 3 pm.

The names of ministers to be inducted have not been made public so far. According to party sources, one or two Independent MLAs may get into the new Cabinet.  As per reports, the first lot may include at least 15-20 ministers. The first session of the new Vidhan Sabha is likely to start from January 7 with the swearing in of the 230 legislators.

Congress veteran Nath was sworn-in as Chief Minister on December 17, six days after his party posted a narrow victory over the BJP, which ruled the state for 15 years.

Nath has been camping in New Delhi since the past three days to finalize the list of his Cabinet colleagues, to be sworn in Tuesday, in consultation with Congress president Rahul Gandhi and other senior party leaders.

Earlier on Friday, CM Kamal Nath had said that the decision on formation of Madhya Pradesh Cabinet will be taken in two-three days. Briefing the media over the matter, he had reportedly said that first-time legislators are not on the priority list for ministers. “It is true that MLAs who have been elected for the first time, we will not give them priority for a ministerial berth,” Nath was quoted as saying.

Replying to a question on whether the three MLAs from Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Samajwadi Party — who extended support to Congress after it fell short of the number by two in the recent Assembly Election in the state— will be considered for ministerial positions, the Chief Minister said, “That will be decided by the leaders of their parties. But they had not kept this as a condition when they extended support.”

In the recently concluded Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections 2018, Congress emerged victorious on 114 seats, two short of the magic figure but the party got the support by Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Samajwadi Party (SP) in Madhya Pradesh.