Bhopal, Feb 3: Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan inducted Narayan Singh, Balkrishna and Jalam Singh into his cabinet on Saturday, ahead of the Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections 2018. The oath of secrecy to the three ministers was administered at Raj Bhawan by Governor Anandiben Patel.Also Read - 7th Pay Commission: Madhya Pradesh Announces Big Diwali Bonanza, Increases Dearness Allowance by 8% For State Employees

The Chouhan-led government, in its third term, has 20 Cabinet Ministers, including the CM and nine Ministers of State since December 2013. The State can have a maximum of 35 Ministers. Also Read - Photo of Woman Cop Carrying Toddler Daughter to Duty at Helipad Goes Viral, Wins MP CM's Praise

“It is a matter of happiness, will make the cabinet more balanced which will lead to better work & results. One expansion has taken place, another small one will also be done,” the MP CM said. Also Read - Viral Video: BJP Leader Jagdish Jaiswal Falls From Stage While Cheering For Shivraj Singh Chouhan | Watch

The State Congress, meanwhile, has submitted a memorandum to the Election Commission and written a letter to the Governor saying that the BJP government cannot carry out a Cabinet expansion as the model code of conduct is in force ahead of the February 24 Assembly by-polls in Mungaoli and Kolaras.

In the memorandum to the EC, State Congress president Arun Yadav has demanded that the proposed Cabinet expansion be postponed till February 28.

In the letter to the Governor, Yadav said, “This expansion or reshuffle would be against the Constitutional traditions. The proposed expansion, if any, is directly or indirectly a way to influence the electorate.”

Chief Electoral Officer of Madhya Pradesh Salina Singh said she has forwarded the memorandum to the Election Commission of India.

(With PTI inputs)