New Delhi: The BJP and the Congress are involved in a neck-and-neck fight in Madhya Pradesh as trends in all the 230 Assembly seats suggest that both the parties are leading on 110 seats each. Also Read - Dismiss Kamal Nath From Congress For His 'Item' Jibe, BJP Leader Imarti Devi to Sonia Gandhi

Madhya Pradesh was a tantalising see-saw battle between the BJP, seeking a fourth term in power, and the Congress, desperate to stage a comeback in the central Indian state that was once its stronghold. Also Read - 'Feudal Mindset': MP CM Shivraj Singh Lashes Out at Kamal Nath For Calling BJP Leader Imarti Devi ‘Item’

The latest leading position shows BJP at 111, Congress 108, BSP 5 and Others at 6 seats. The majority mark in Madhya Pradesh is 116. Also Read - Seven Dead in 12 Hours in MP's Ujjain; CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan Orders Probe

Despite the dominant anti-incumbency factor, the BJP currently seems to be having a slight edge over the opposition.

Click Here For Live Updates on Assembly Election Results of Five States 

At the current scenario, the BSP and Samajwadi Party (SP) may play the kingmaker in forming government in Madhya Pradesh.

However, according to Zee News sources, the BSP and SP, along with Gondwana Gondwana Ganatantra Party have denied extending support to the BJP in case hung assembly in the state.

Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan held talks with BJP chief Amit Shah and party leader Ram Lal over phone to discuss the current political scenario in the state.
Apart from Madhya Pradesh, counting of votes is underway in Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram and Telangana.

As per the latest trends, the Congress was leading in the BJP-ruled states of Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh. Meanwhile, the TRS forged ahead in Telangana and the MNF in Mizoram.

In the desert state of Rajasthan, the Congress was leading in 97 seats, three short of the magic number of 100, and the BJP in 75, according to the website of the Rajasthan chief electoral officer. Independents were leading in 12 seats.

In Chhattisgarh, the Congress was poised to oust the BJP which was seeking a fourth straight term in office under the leadership of Chief Minister Raman Singh.

According to the Election Commission, the Congress was ahead in 54 of the 90 seats, leaving the BJP trailing with 17 sea.