New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday expelled 53 candidates in Madhya Pradesh who had refused to withdraw their nominations before the deadline was over. Also Read - Must Watch | After 'Kamal, Kamal', BJP Leader's Breathless 'Corona Corona' Chant Goes Viral

The move came after the BJP tried to convince the dissenting leaders by pressing in its firefighters like Prabhat Jha, Narendra Singh Tomar, state president Rakesh Singh and state in-charge Vinay Sahastrabuddhe. Also Read - AAP MLA Raghav Chadha Claims UP CM Yogi Adityanath Getting Migrants 'Thrashed'; Cops Register FIR

Those expelled by the party include former ministers Ramkrishna Kusmaria and K L Agrawal, three former MLAs and a former mayor. Also Read - Madhya Pradesh: 22 Rebel Congress MLAs Join BJP, Day After Kamal Nath's Resignation as Chief Minister

For All Updates on Madhya Pradesh Assembly Election, Click Here

The party seems to be in trouble waters in Damoh and Patharia where former minister Kusuma Priya is contesting as an Independent candidate against official candidates, former minister Jayant Malaiya and sitting MLA Lakhan Patel.

Other influential rebels who still remain in the fray include former MLA Shantilal Bilwal from Jhabua, Vel Singh Bhuria form Sardarpur, Santosh Joshi from Susner, Ghasiram Patel from Rajnagar, Ramdayal Ahirwar from Chandla and Jitendfra Singh Pandya.

In case of Babulal Gaur, BJP president Amit Shah intervened to placate the senior leader and ensured ticket to Gaur’s daughter in law Krishna.