Live Updates

  • 7:15 PM IST

    MP Crisis LIVE: Shivraj Singh Chouhan leaves after meeting Kamal Nath at his residence.

  • 4:08 PM IST

    MP Crisis LIVE: “If a govt topples due to their own internal conflict then we can’t do anything. You can see that we were not in the game to form or topple a govt. Congress should do some self introspection that what gave rise to such situation,” says BJP leader and ex-CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

  • 2:54 PM IST

  • 2:38 PM IST

  • 1:52 PM IST

  • 1:42 PM IST
    MP Crisis: Taking to micro-blogging site Twitter, BJP’s Jyotiraditya Scindia has called Kamal Nath’s resignation ‘victory of people of Madhya Pradesh’.
  • 1:37 PM IST

    MP Crisis LIVE: Kamal Nath has submitted his resignation to Madhya Pradesh Governor Lalji Tandon. His letter states “All that has happened in Madhya Pradesh in the last two weeks is a new chapter in the weakening of democratic principles.”

  • 1:18 PM IST
    MP Crisis LIVE: Kamal Nath arrives at Raj Bhavan in Bhopal. He has resigned as the CM, ahead of the floor test in the state assembly which was to be held today.
  • 12:59 PM IST

    MP Crisis LIVE: I had said that as long as Kamal Nath is
    there, I’ll keep supporting him. But my priority is the people of my
    constituency, their development & respect of the workers. I feel that now
    it’s not possible in absence of a leadership, says Pradeep Jaiswal, Independent

  • 12:54 PM IST
    MP Crisis LIVE: Kamal Nath to meet governor at 1 PM, say TV reports

New Delhi: Ahead of the floor test at 2 PM, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath is expected to step down from his post, reports claimed. Earlier on Thurday, the Supreme Court had ordered a floor test for the Kamal Nath-led Congress government in the state and asked to complete the proceedings before 5 PM. Also Read - Madhya Pradesh Crisis: Will Kamal Nath Quit as CM Ahead of Floor Test?

Meanwhile, both the BJP and the Congress have issued whip to their legislators. The current situation of the Assembly seems to be in BJP’s favour as the resignations of 16 rebel Congress MLAs was accepted by Speaker Narmada Prasad Prajapati yesterday. Also Read - MP Assembly to Hold Floor Test Today, Kamal Nath Says ‘Will Seek Legal Advice’ | Top Developments

The Assembly currently has 206 MLAs, out of which 104 MLAs are needed for a majority. The BJP has 107 MLAs, while the Congress has 92, Bahujan Samaj Party 2, Samajwadi Party 1 and four Independents. If the Congress continues to get the support its allies, then its figures will reach 99, which will still be short of the majority mark.