Chennai, September 19: The Madras High Court on Tuesday allowed the plea of 18 disqualified AIADMK MLAs, who backed sidelined party leader TTV Dinakaran, for urgent hearing on Wednesday. “Legally we are very sound and we will get justice from the court,” Dinakaran said over the disqualification of the MLAs.

The MLAs had filed a plea challenging Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal’s decision to disqualify them. The MLAs include Thanga Tamilselvan, Senthil Balaji, P Vetrivel and K Mariappan.

The MLAs were disqualified with effect from Monday, under the 1986 Tamil Nadu Assembly Members Party Defection Law. Also read: Dinakaran asks for Palanisamy’s resignation post Sasikala’s expulsion from AIADMK

The Dinakaran faction had earlier met the officials from the Election Commission and requested them to declare the recently-conducted general council meeting of the party null and void. The AIADMK, in its general council meeting, had passed a resolution, according to which jailed party general secretary VK Sasikala stood expelled from the party and the post of the temporary general secretary forfeited.

The resolution further said that the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister, E Palanisamy and his deputy, O Panneerselvam, shall retrieve the party and its symbol. The resolution stated that all announcements by Dinakaran stand cancelled.

On September 14, the Dinakaran faction had also moved the high court demanding a floor test in the Tamil Nadu Assembly to prove the majority of the Palanisamy government. The court later ordered that no floor test will be conducted till September 20.

With inputs from Agencies