New Delhi: An alliance between Shiv Sena, BJP and other allies for the Maharashtra Assembly elections were officially announced on Monday. The seat-sharing deal will be announced soon, stated news agency ANI. Also Read - Maharashtra Assembly Election 2019: Raj Thackeray's MNS to Contest Polls, Likely to go Solo

Some reports suggested that the BJP had decided to allot 124 seats to its ally Shiv Sena and field candidates from 164 seats for the Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019. These reports surfaced after a crucial pre-poll meeting in which Prime Minister Narendra Modi made an appearance. Also Read - Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019: BJP to Offer 124 Seats to Shiv Sena, Say Reports

Meanwhile, the announcement of the seat-sharing pact was expected to be made at a joint presser of Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray and Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis in Mumbai on September 29. However, it was delayed due to a rift between the allies over the number of seats and ‘shraddha paksha’. Shraddha Paksha is a belief that it is ‘inauspicious’ to begin something new in a specified time period. Also Read - Maharashtra Assembly Polls 2019: Shiv Sena's Aditya Thackeray to Contest From Worli

On September 29, the Congress released the first list of 51 candidates for the upcoming Maharashtra Legislative Assembly elections. Some of the candidates include Ashok Chavan from Boker, Nitin Raut from Nagpur North, Pariniti Shinde from Solapur Central, Vishwajeet Patangrao Kadam from Palus-Kadegaon and Amit Vilasrao Deshmukh from Latur City.

The single-phase assembly election in Maharashtra will take place on October 21, while the counting of votes on October 24.