Mumbai, Jan 8: The state BJP today welcomed the Union Government’s decision to lift the ban on bullock cart racing in Maharashtra. While vacating the ban imposed in 2012 by the Supreme Court, the Centre has laid down norms for conducting the races which are popular in rural areas. Maharashtra BJP president Raosaheb Danve, in a statement, welcomed the decision. Ironically, the Supreme Court’s ban on the bullock cart racing in Maharashtra had come on petitions filed by the Shirur MP Shivajirao Adhalrao Patil, who belongs to BJP’s ally Shiv Sena, and others.Also Read - Maharashtra SET Answer Keys 2021 Released: Here’s How to Download it on

A gazette notification by the Union Environment Ministry says that bulls may be continue to be exhibited or trained as performing animal at events such as Jallikattu in Tamil Nadu and bullock cart races in Maharashtra, Karnataka, Punjab, Haryana, Kerala and Gujarat. “Such event shall take place in any district where it is being traditionally held annually. At such place explicitly permitted by the District Collector….races shall be organised on a proper track, which shall not exceed two kilometres,” it says. (Also Read: Jallikattu against Centre’s ideology of saving cows: PFA) Also Read - Rejoice! No More RT-PCR Checks For International Travellers at Karnataka Airports

The bulls shall be tested by the authorities of the Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Department to ensure that they are in good physical condition to participate in the event and performance enhancement drugs are not administered to them. The races shall be monitored by the district society for Prevention of Cruelty to Animals and State Animal Welfare Board, besides the district authorities. Danve, while welcoming the decision, said the farmers take care of the bulls with love. “Special care is taken of the bulls meant for racing. Despite these were wrong complaints made about ill-treatment of bulls,” he said. The bullock cart races are traditionally held in Western Maharashtra’s Bhosari, Khed, Satara and other areas. Sena leader Shivajirao Adhalrao Patil, Khed Taluka Chalak Malak Sangh and Prabhakar Sapate had filed petitions in the Supreme Court in 2012. Also Read - Eid Milad-un-Nabi 2021: Mumbai Police Issues SOPs For Eid-e-Milad, All Processions Except 1 Prohibited. Full Guidelines