Mumbai/Nashik, February 22: Within a few minutes from now the counting for Maharashtra civic elections will start and the fate of more than 25,000 candidates will be decided in few hours. The fierce four-way battle between Shiv Sena, BJP, Congress and NCP will be over latest by today evening and the time for negotiation and post-poll alliance will start after the results is declared. All eyes are on the outcome of the fiercely-fought Maharashtra civic elections results which was fought for 25 Zilla Parishad’s and 10 Corporations across Maharashtra. The results for the Brihanmumbai Mahanagar Palika, the richest civic body in India, will be declared today as the counting is about to start at 10 AM today. The counting of around 1.5 crore votes for 10 Municipal Corporations (BMC, TMC, PMC, NMC and many more) will start at 10 AM across Maharashtra and is likely to end at 1 PM on Thursday. The Maharashtra Civic Polls is also considered as a litmus test for Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s demonetisation, as it is the first major election held after note ban. It is also a test for Shiv Sena which is contesting the election on its own leaving behind its 25-year-old ally BJP.Also Read - TMC MP Sushmita Dev's Convoy Vandalised in Tripura, Party Alleges BJP Behind Attack

The Shiv Sena under the leadership of Uddhav Thackeray this time fought the election keenly, lashing out freely on BJP during their bitter campaign. (Also read: Shiv Sena says Mumbai mayor will be from the party itself; but how?) Also Read - Auditoriums, Cinema Halls, Amusement Parks Set to Reopen in Maharashtra From Today | Guidelines Here

The 10 Municipal Corporations in Maharashtra that went for the elections are – Brihanmumbai Mahanagar palika (BMC), Thane Municipal Corporations (TMC), Pune Municipal Corporations (PMC), Nashik Municipal Corporations (NMC), Ulhasnagar Municipal Corporation (UMC), Pimpri-Chinchwad Municipal Corporations (PCMC), Solapur Municipal Coporation (SMC), Akola Municipal Corporation (AMC), Amravati Municipal Corporation (AMC) and Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC). Also Read – Maharashtra Corporation Election Results Predictions 2017: BJP edging out Shiv Sena in civic polls, says Zee 24 Taas exit polls Also Read - ‘Stop Talking About Secularism’: Amarinder Singh Slams Congress, Questions Alliance With Sena

For the BMC elections, in Mumbai 2,275 candidates contested for 227 seats and the city has 92 lakh voters. This year the Election Commission said that there was a record voter turnout, as 55 per cent of voters practised their rights to voting. Out of 10 Municipal Corporations, the BMC is the most important civic body which has an annual budget of around 37,052 crores this year.

Apart from 10 Municipal Corporations the counting for 25 Zilla Parishad and Panchayat Samiti’s will also be conducted parallelly in Maharashtra. The counting for 25 Zilla Parishad’s will start in few minutes where elections were held in two phases. The 25 Zilla Parishad are – Amravati Zilla Parishad, Wardha Zilla Parishad, Osmanabad Zilla Parishad, Nanded Zilla Parishad, Latur Zilla Parishad, Jalna Zilla Parishad, Satara Zilla Parishad, Solapur Zilla Parishad, Jalgaon Zilla Parishad, Nashik Zilla Parishad, Ahmednagar Zilla Parishad, Beed Zilla Parishad, Gadchiroli Zilla Parishad, Yavatmal Zilla Parishad, Buldhana Zilla Parishad, Raigad Zilla Parishad, Ratnagiri Zilla Parishad, Sindhudurg Zilla Parishad, Pune Zilla Parishad, Kolhapur Zilla Parishad, Sangli Zilla Parishad, Chandrapur Zilla Parishad, Aurangabad Zilla Parishad, Hingoli Zilla Parishad, Parbhani Zilla Parishad. Also Read – Maharashtra Zilla Parishad & Panchayat Samiti Elections 2017 Exit Poll Results: BJP likely to win 350 to 400 seats in civic polls, predicts Zee 24 Taas

The phase 1 of Maharashtra zilla parishad and panchayat samiti was held on February 16 for a total of 855 zilla parishad seats and 1,172 panchayat samiti polls. The phase 2 of Maharashtra zilla parishad and panchayat samiti elections were held on February 21 in which a total 191 zilla parishad seats and 382 panchayat samiti seats in Kolhapur, Sangli and Satara districts of South Maharashtra that went to poll.

The fate for 227 BMC seats, 1,046 zilla parishad, 1094 panchayat samiti and 2983 seats for 9 Municipal corporations across Maharashtra will be decided today.

Live Updates

  • 4:49 PM IST
    Thank you for tuning into our coverage of Maharashtra Municipal Corporation Election Results.
  • 1:30 AM IST

    PM Narendra Modi congratulates BJP for municipal poll win. Read full story here

  • 1:25 AM IST

    BJP’s win in civic polls a mandate on transparency: Fadnavis. Read full story here

  • 1:23 AM IST

    Maharashtra civic poll results are very encouraging for MIM: Asaduddin Owaisi. Read full story here

  • 1:20 AM IST

    Supriya Sule says Civic poll results setback to NCP, need to rebuild party. Read full story here

  • 1:14 AM IST

    Uddhav Thackray says Shiv Sena will retain Mayor’s post. Read full story here

  • 1:08 AM IST

    Shiv Sena retains Thane Municipal Corporation. Read full story here

  • 1:04 AM IST

    BJP dislodges NCP in Pimpri-Chinchwad civic polls. Read full story here

  • 1:01 AM IST

    BJP comes to power in Pune corporation for the first time. Read full story here

  • 12:57 AM IST

    5-year-old decides fate of 2 BMC candidates locked in a tie. Read full story here