Maharashtra Civic Polls 2018: The voting for 78-member Sangli-Miraj-Kupwad Municipal Corporation (SMKMC) and the 75-member Jalgaon Municipal Corporation (JMC) began at 7.30 AM on Wednesday, August 1, and will continue till 5.30 PM. A tough competition is on cards between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress, Shiv Sena and NCP. The counting of votes will be conducted on August 3, Friday. Results will be declared on the same day. Also Read - 'Nation First': Groom And His Family Decked Up For Wedding, Stand In Queue To Vote in Delhi

For election to two municipal corporations in Maharashtra, a total of 754 candidates are in the fray for 153 seats. The polling is being held in Sangli-Miraj- Kupwad Municipal Corporation (SMKMC) in Western Maharashtra and Jalgaon Municipal Corporation (JMC) in North Maharashtra. Both cities have a total voter population of 7,89,251. Also Read - Great News as Senior Citizens Above 80 Yrs Can Vote Via Postal Ballot, Announces Govt

For the Sangli-Miraj- Kupwad Municipal Corporation and Jalgaon Municipal Corporation Elections, as many as 1,013 polling booths have been set up, as informed by State Election Commissioner JS Saharia. Around 5,792 election staff has been deployed on duty in the two cities. Also Read - Maharashtra Assembly Election 2019 Updates: 55.37% Voter Turnout Till 5 PM

Giving break-up of the two civic bodies, he said 451 candidates are in fray for 78 seats in the SMKMC, while 303 nominees will vie for 75 seats in Jalgaon.

Sangli has 4,24,179 eligible voters, while there number is 3,65,072 in Jalgaon.

Earlier on April 12, the BJP emerged victorious in elections held for six Municipal Councils. The party bagged Jamner, Vijapur, Devrukh and Ajra. Kankavli was won by BJP MP Narayan Rane’s party the Swabhiman Paksh, which is part of the National Democratic Alliance.

The poll for the seat in Guhagar Municipal Council was won by a local alliance, which is being called the ‘shahar vikas aghadi’.

Neither of the Congress, the Nationalist Congress Party or Shiv Sena managed to win a single municipal out of the six, whereas the BJP registered a clean sweep in the Jamner Council, where it has won 24 out of the 24 available municipal seats.