Mumbai, December 30: The Maharashtra Legislative Council (MLC) Elections Results of Mumbai, Solapur, Ahmednagar, Akola, Dhule and Kolhapur have been declared by Wednesday morning, in which Congress has gained maximum number of seats defeating Bhartiya Janata Party in the council elections.Also Read - Punjab Polls 2022: Bhagwant Mann, AAP's CM Candidate Challenges CM Channi to Contest Against Him From Dhuri

The counting of votes has almost ended by Wednesday afternoon bringing back smiles on the faces of Mumbai Congress leaders who suffered huge loss in 2014 Maharashtra Assembly elections. Also Read - Punjab Election 2022: BJP Releases List of Candidates, Check Names Announced so Far

Of the 8 MLC seats Congress won 3 seats, Shiv Sena won 2 seats while Nationalist Congress Party and Bhartiya Janata Party was able to grab only 1 MLC seat. Read Also: (Karnataka Legislative Council Election Results 2015: Congress wins 1 MLC seats, leads on 11; BJP ahead on 4) Also Read - BJP Releases First List of 34 Candidates for Punjab Assembly Elections

Congress registered victory in one of the seats of Mumbai, Dhule-Nandurbar and Kolhapur. While Shiv Sena registered victory in one seat in Mumbai and in Akola area. Earlier BJP had secured Nagpur MLC seat and on Wednesday they were able to grab one seat from Solapur district.

In Mumbai, Ramdas Kadam from Shiv Sena registered victory after he received 73 votes, Bhai Jagtap from Congress was also victorious as he was able to get 64 votes in his favour. Whereas Prasad Lad from NCP lost as he was able to get only 55 votes

The MLC voting in Solapur, saw Prashant Paricharak from BJP registering victory against Deepak Salunkhe of NCP who was able to grab only 121 votes in his favour.

In Ahmednagar, Arun Jagtap of NCP won, where 244 votes registered in his favour and defeated Shiv Sena leaders Shashikant Gade who got 177 votes.

In Akola, Gopikishanchand Bajoriya of Shiv Sena received 513 votes and defeated Ravindra Sapkal of NCP.

Amrish Patel of Congress from Dhule and Nandurbar, one of the biggest region for MLC, registered victory as he received 352 votes in his favour and defeated Shashikant Wadi of BJP who just received 31 votes.

In Kolhapur, former Home Minister Satej Patel of Congress registered victory as he got elected with 220 votes and defeated Mahadeorao Mahadik who stood independently and got 157 votes.

BJP was able to secure one MLC seat in Nagpur where Girish Vyas, a senior BJP member from the area was elected as council member earlier and was declared elected unopposed as there was no rival in the fray.

In all, there are 15 candidates in the fray for the six local authorities constituencies for which voting was held on 27 December. Out of the total 2,622 croporators, 2585 corporators cast their ballot, with the overall voting percentage of 98.59 percent being recorded.