Live Updates

  • 10:39 PM IST

    Maharashtra LIVE: “I am happy to tell you all that the first decision that this cabinet has taken is to approve Rs 20 Crores for the development of Raigad which was the capital of Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj,” Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray said.

  • 10:26 PM IST

    Maharashtra LIVE: I want to assure the people of the state that we will give a good government. I want to help the farmers in a manner which will make them happy,” Uddhav Thackeray says after first cabinet meeting.

  • 10:21 PM IST
    Maharashtra LIVE:Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray addresses press conference.
  • 9:25 PM IST
    The first cabinet meeting of Maharashtra government has begun at Sahyadri Guest House.

  • 9:25 PM IST
    The first cabinet meeting of Maharashtra government has begun at Sahyadri Guest House.

  • 8:22 PM IST

    Maharashtra LIVE: State Ministers Chhagan Bhujbal & Subhash Desai arrive at Sahyadri guest house for the first cabinet meeting.

  • 8:14 PM IST

    Maharashtra LIVE: NCP leader Ajit Pawar tweets, “Congratulations & best wishes to the Shiv Sena Party Chief Hon. Uddhav Thackeray ji on becoming the Chief Minister of Maharashtra. Under his leadership, the state will develop as a whole.”

  • 8:12 PM IST

  • 8:07 PM IST

    Maharashtra LIVE: We are truly overwhelmed with joy and the responsibility given by all the parties. As CM, we have been chosen as the leader of Sena-NCP-Congress alliance. We have been coming to the same ground for years now, our dream has been fulfilled only day,” Shiv Sena leader Neelam Gorhe said.

  • 7:54 PM IST
    Maharashtra LIVE: West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee congratulates Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, Cong leader Balasaheb Thorat for coming together and forming govt in Maharashtra.

)New Delhi: Maharashtra is getting a Sena Chief Minister after 20 years as Uddhav Thackeray took oath on Thursday. Shivaji Park — Sena’s hallowed venue for all its memories of Sena founder Bal Thackeray — geared up for the grand event. In 1966, Bal Thackeray addressed his first public rally in this park. He was cremated in a corner of the park.

Elaborate arrangements were made. Police personnel in civil clothes were deployed. Drones and CCTV cameras were used to monitor the crowd.

According to the power-sharing formula the allies in the Maha Vikas Aghadi have finally worked out, the Shiv Sena will get the post of the chief minister and 15 cabinet berths, the NCP will get the post of the deputy chief minister and 13 cabinet ranks while the Congress will get Speaker and 13 ministerial berths.

Along with Uddhav, Congress leaders Balasaheb Thorat, Ashok Chavan, NCP leaders Jayant Patil, Chagan Bhujbal, Shiv Sena’s Subhash Desai and Eknath Shinde will also take their oaths.