New Delhi: After nearly six months of becoming the Maharashtra Chief Minister, Uddhav Thackeray was on Monday afternoon sworn in as a Member of the Legislative Council in a brief ceremony in Mumbai. Along with him, eight other members of different political parties also took oath as members of the Upper House of Maharashtra Legislature. Also Read - Day After Crossing 50,000 Mark, Maharashtra Registers 2,436 New cases; Tally Stands at 52,667

Chairman of legislature Ramraje Nimbalkar administered the oath to the nine new members who were declared elected unopposed last week. They include Legislative Council Deputy Chairperson and Shiv Sena’s Neelam Gorhe, Nationalist Congress Party’s Shashikant Shinde and Amol Mitkari and Congress’ Rajesh Rathod. Also Read - Maharashtra Cabinet Minister And Former CM Ashok Chavan Tests Positive For COVID-19

From the Opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the new MLCs are Ranjitsinh Mohite-Patil, Ramesh Karad, Pravin Datke, and Gopichand Padalkar. Also Read - Maharashtra: COVID-19 Cases Cross 50000-mark; Total Tally at 50231; 3041 Fresh Cases in 24 Hours

Thackeray was accompanied by his wife Rashmi Thackeray and other government officials.

Sworn in as the unanimously elected the Maha Vikas Aghadi Chief Minister on November 28, Thackeray had to fulfil a constitutional requirement of becoming a member of either house of the state legislature by the end of this month, failing which he would’ve lost his power as the chief minister.

Thackeray has now become only the second member of the state’s ruling political family to enter the state legislative council after his son and cabinet minister Aditya Thackeray, who was elected an MLA from Worli in October last year.