New Delhi, May 31: The Maheshtala by-election result has been declared. West Bengal ruling party Trinamool Congress candidate Dulal Chandra Das registered a victory in Maheshtala by-election result 2018 with an impressive margin. The counting of the votes began at 8 AM and from the beginning, the early trends favoured the TMC candidate. Also Read - BJP Leader V. Muraleedharan Tweets Video, Says 'TMC Goons Attacked my Convoy'

Maheshtala Vidhan Sabha seat in West Bengal went to polls on May 28 and 73 per cent votes were polled as 2.58 lakh voters exercised their franchise at 283 booths of the assembly constituency. The prime contest is between ruling party Trinamool Congress and main opposition BJP. Also Read - Mandatory Face Mask, 50% Attendance in State Govt Offices: West Bengal Govt Issues New COVID Guidelines

In the Maheshtala Vidhan Sabha seat in West Bengal, the Congress party didn’t field any candidate leaving the seat for CPM to contest. The by-election to the Maheshtala seat was necessitated following the death of TMC MLA Kasturi Das in February 2018. Dulal Chandra Das is the widower of Kasturi Das. Also Read - Election Commission Rejects TMC's Demand For Recount of Votes in Nandigram, Mamata Says Will Approach Court

on the day of the polling, Das had alleged that the BJP had distributed money a day before the polling in different areas. BJP candidate Sujit Ghosh, on the other hand, expressed displeasure over the deployment of the security forces at the polling booths. “They were deployed only in the booths and did not conduct patrolling,” he said.