New Delhi, May 23: Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy on Wednesday said leaders who came from all over the country wanted to give a message to the nation that we are one and in 2019 there will be a major change in the political situation.  Addressing the press conference first time after swearing-in as chief minister, he said, “They were not here to protect this government and this government will be protected by local Congress leaders and our leaders.” Also Read - Centre Faces Tough Question as Pressure Mounts to Impose Full Lockdown in India to Beat COVID Surge

He further said, “This coalition government (Congress-JD(S)) will run better than anyone party govt and we will concentrate on working for the public. We have decided to work together for the betterment of the state.” (ALSO READ: Cash-strapped Congress Not Ready to Face BJP in 2019?) Also Read - Deploy Resources in Saving Lives Instead of Building PM's New House: Priyanka Gandhi

Earlier in the day, Janata Dal (Secular) leader H D Kumaraswamy took oath as Chief Minister of Karnataka for the second time. Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath of office to Kumaraswamy on the grand steps of the state Secretariat. Kumaraswamy will lead the JD(S)-Congress coalition government in the state. Congress’s state chief G Parameshwara also sworn-in as Deputy Chief Minister. Both the leaders took oath in Kannada in the name of god, farmers and the people of the southern state. (ALSO READ: HD Kumaraswamy, a King Crowned by Arch Rivals)

Among the prominent political leaders present on the huge dais were UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress president Rahul Gandhi, BSP supremo Mayawati, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav, expelled Janata Dal-United president Sharad Yadav and Communist Party of India-Marxist General Secretary Sitaram Yechury. Chief Ministers Mamata Banerjee (West Bengal), N. Chandrababu Naidu (Andhra Pradesh) and Pinarayi Vijayan (Kerala) were also present at the 10-minute swearing-in ceremony.

Though the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged as the single largest party with 104 seats in Karnataka Assembly elections, the Congress and the JD(S) forged a post-poll alliance to keep the BJP at bay. The JD-S (36) and Congress (78) alliance has 117 members in the House. In the 224-member Assembly, which currently has 222 members, Kumaraswamy has 6 more than the required 111 halfway mark.

Karnataka governor Vajubhai Vala invited Kumaraswamy on Saturday to form the coalition government after the fall of the three-day BJP government as its Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa resigned before the trust vote as his party fell seven short of the 111-halfway mark majority in a hung house.