Mandaibazar, Mar 3: The BJP won Tripura Assembly Elections 2018, scripting history on Saturday, as counting of votes took place today. Counting of votes for Mandaibazar, Takarjala, Pratapgarh, Badharghat, Kamalasagar assembly constituencies began at 8 am and the results were out by this evening. Also Read - A Uniform Body Of Law Strengthens The Sovereignty Of State And Uniform Civil Code Is The First Step Towards It

BJP’s Rebati Mohan Das won the Pratapgarh seat by 3,148 votes. IPFT’s Narendra Chandra Debbarma won the  Takarjala seat by 12,652 votes. BJP’s Dilip Sarkar won the Badharghat seat by 5,448 votes. CPIM’s Narayan Chandra Chowdhuri won the Kamalasagar seat by 1,879 votes. IPFT’s Dhirendra Debbarma wins Mandaibazar seat by 5,864 votes. Also Read - Self Defence: Cooch Behar Firing Took Place After Locals Attacked CISF Jawans, Says Election Commission

The Mandaibazaar seat had always been a CPM seat. The CPM had yet again fielded its three-time winner Monoranjan Debbarma. The Congress had fielded Jiten Debbarma here while the IPFT had fielded Dhirendra Debbarma. Takarjala had also been majorly ruled by the CPM. The Left party had fielded Ramendra Debbarma here while the Congress fielded Samson Debbarma. Also Read - Mamata Banerjee Seeks Amit Shah's Resignation Over Cooch Behar Firing, Accuses Central Forces of Working At BJP's Behest

The Congress had won the Pratapgarh seat in 1972. However, since 1977, it had been a CPM seat. The CPM had fielded Ramu Das, who won the previous election while the BJP fielded Rebati Mohan Das here. Badharghat had been a Congress seat for the past two elections. However, Congress’s two-time winner Dilip Sarkar was contesting this election on a BJP ticket this year.

Kamalasagar had been a CPM seat with the Congress winning twice here. The CPM had fielded its four-time winner Narayan Chandra Chowdhuri here. The BJP had fielded Arun Bhowmik, who left the Congress.

Voting took place in Tripura on February 18 while a voter turnout of 89 per cent was recorded. The eexit polls have predicted a victory for the BJP in Tripura.