Top Recommended Stories

Manipur Elections 2022: BJP Releases List of All 60 Candidates, CM Biren Singh to Contest From Heingang

Manipur will go to polls in two phases on February 27 and March 3 and the counting of votes will be held on March 10.

Updated: January 30, 2022 2:36 PM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Kritika Bansal

Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election 2022, Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2022, UP Assembly Elections 2022, UP Assembly Election 2022, BJP, BJP candidates List, Politics, Surya Pratap Shahi, Siddharth Nath Singh, Nandkumar Gupta Nandi, Uttar Pradesh, UP, UP NEWS,
BJP releases another list of candidates for Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections.

Manipur: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday released a fresh list of candidates for the upcoming Manipur Assembly Elections 2022. Taking to Twitter, the BJP tweeted, “The Central Election Committee meeting of BJP has given its approval on the names of the following candidates for the Manipur Assembly Elections-2022.”

Also Read:

The party’s list included the names of 60 candidates who will fight in the upcoming legislative polls. Earlier on Sunday, Union minister Bhupender Yadav said the BJP will contest on all 60 seats, ruling out the possibility of forging a pre-poll alliance.

You may like to read

The BJP has fielded Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh from his traditional Heingang constituency.

Manipur will go to polls in two phases on February 27 and March 3 and the counting of votes will be held on March 10.

The ruling BJP in Manipur ahead of the assembly elections has been facing rebellion from the possible aspirants with a saffron party leader Lourembam Sanjoy Singh, on Saturday, joining the National People’s Party (NPP), the junior ally of the dominant party.

A BJP Mandal President of Lilong assembly seat (near Imphal) on Saturday threatened to abolish the party unit in the assembly constituency if the dedicated candidate is not given party ticket for the assembly elections.

Sanjoy Singh resigned from BJP as he was seeking party ticket from Andro seat in Imphal East district.

NPP national Vice-President and Manipur Deputy Chief Minister Y. Joykumar Singh welcoming Sanjoy Singh said that more BJP leaders who are anticipating that they would not be nominated by the saffron party would join NPP, which already released its first list of 20 candidates.

With four MLAs, the NPP is an ally of the BJP-led government, however, the party already announced to fight the polls on its own.

The NPP headed by Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K. Sangma, however, already announced to contest the elections on its own this time and would field candidates in at least 40 seats.

The NPP, a national political party, which has political bases in different northeastern states, had contested nine seats in 2017 and won four.

(With agency inputs)

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

Published Date: January 30, 2022 1:38 PM IST

Updated Date: January 30, 2022 2:36 PM IST