New Delhi: Manipuri dance veteran Rajkumar Singhajit Singh has been selected for the Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony for the year 2014. Apart from Singh, Bangladeshi cultural organisation Chhayanaut and sculptor Ram Vanji Sutar have been selected for the prestigious Tagore Award for the year 2015 and 2016, respectively.

Singh, a distinguished teacher, performer and choreographer has been over the years chalked the framework of traditional Manipuri dance. His choreography includes various forms of performing arts of Manipur such as Thang-ta, Nata-Sankirtana, Lai-haraoba and Rasleela. The prestigious Tagore Award recognises Singh’s contribution in keeping the tradition of Manipuri dance alive and vibrant, promoting harmony through dance.

It also pays tribute to Rabindranath Tagore, who was influenced by Manipuri dance and had made it an integral part of the education curriculum at Visva Bharati.

The jury under the chairmanship of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and comprising of the Chief Justice of India (CJI) Justice Ranjan Gogoi, N. Gopalaswami and Dr Vinay Sahasrabuddhe after detailed discussions on October 24, 2018, unanimously decided to select the three of them respectively, in recognition of their outstanding contribution to cultural harmony.

The first Tagore Award was conferred on Pt. Ravi Shankar, the Indian Sitar Maestro in 2012 and second was conferred on Zubin Mehta in 2013. The annual award was instituted by the Government of India during the commemoration of 150th Birth Anniversary of Rabindranath Tagore.

The Tagore Award carries an amount of Rs 1 crore, a citation in a scroll, a plaque as well as an exquisite traditional handicraft/ handloom item and is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, language, caste, creed or sex.