Panaji, March 13: Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar has been appointed as the chief minister of Goa by the Governor of Goa Mridula Sinha today. The Governor has given Parrikar a period of 15 days to prove majority after taking oath as the CM.Also Read - Delhi-Dehradun Economic Corridor: You Will Soon Reach Delhi From Dehradun in Just 2.5 Hours | All You Need to Know

Parrikar who is presently the Defence Minister is expected to resign from his post and stake claim of the Government, with the swearing-in ceremony most likely to he held on Tuesday. Prior to this confirmation, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari confirmed that Parrikar is indeed the chief ministerial candidate of Goa. However, earlier, Parrikar stated that he have not resigned yet. Also Read - BSF Celebrates 57th Raising Day, To Exchange Sweets With Pakistan On Attari-Wagah Border

As per India Today, once the BJP received an invitation a date of swearing-in will be decided. Also Read - 'No Data' on Farmers' Deaths, So No Question of Financial Aid: Government

Also read: Manohar Parikkar to stake claim for government in Goa with support of 22 MLAs

An earlier report by stated that Parrikar will submit his resignation as the Defence Minister of India as he is all set to take oath as the next Chief Minister of Goa. The Centre gave Parrikar a portfolio since the last 2 and a half years will now be back to lead the BJP government in the tourist state.

The BJP won 13 seats and under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Manohar Parrikar will go back to his hometown. Manohar Parrikar who stake a claim to form a government today met the state Governor with 22 MLAs- 13 BJP MLAs and 9 Independent MLAs. Some reports claim that the BJP’s top leadership had given Manohar Parrikar a go-ahead to hold the CM’s post after handling a sensitive portfolio.

In Goa, the BJP won 21 seats in 2012 assembly elections. But in 2017, the party was reduced to 13 seats in the 40 member house. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) also failed to open its account in the state. The rest of 10 seats have been won by the regional political parties with Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) winning 3 seats, Goa Front (GF) winning on 3 seats, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) winning on one seat and on three seats independent candidate emerged as a winner.