New Delhi, Jan 3: Counting for assembly elections in Meghalaya will begin at 8 am and the Meghalaya Assembly Election 2018 Results will be declared in the evening. However, by noon, it will be clear whether the BJP-National People’s Party alliance has toppled the Congress government in the northeastern state as decisive trends will be out. Meghalaya Results will be crucial for both the Congress party and the BJP-NPP alliance. While the ruling Congress lose crucial ground in northeast if it loses, the BJP’s footprints will be massively enhanced in the uncharted territory. Stay tuned for live updates of Meghalaya Assembly Election 2018 counting and results. Also Read - Conrad Sangma Takes Oath as Meghalaya CM; Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh Attend Function in Shillong

The CVoter exit poll has predicted that the Congress party’s tally could come down from 29 to 13-10. The BJP might win 4-8 seats with 16.5 per cent vote share. The National People’s Party is expected to get 17-23 seats and will be dominant partner with BJP in the government. In 2013, the BJP was completely decimated as it lost all 13 seats it contested with a vote share of 6.2 per cent. The NPP had won only two seats out of 32 it contested. Also Read - Congress Stakes Claim to Form Government in Meghalaya; Kamal Nath, Ahmed Patel Meet Governor

The Axis-MyIndia exit poll predicts that the BJP may win as many as 30 seats, JanKiBaat-NewsX exit poll predicts that the BJP will win 8-12 seats. This is the first time that Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma contested from two seats. Also Read - Assembly Election Results: After 'Congress Mukt Bharat', It's 'Vaampanth Mukt Bharat', says Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad

The Congress party, which is in power for 10 years, suffered a major blow with five of its MLAs joined the NPP after resigning from the Assembly.

Polling for the Assembly election happened on February 27 with a voter turnout of 74.62 percent. The voting happened on 59 out of 60 seats as an NCP candidate had died on one seat. Total 372 candidates are in the pray.

“We start at 8am. 11 companies (of Central Paramilitary Forces) have been retained for guarding strong rooms. I spoke to DG (of Police), sufficient forces are there to take care of post counting scenario,” FR Kharkongor, Meghalaya Chief Election Officer said.

Live Updates

  • 6:00 PM IST

  • 2:34 PM IST

    Congress party ahead on 18 seats in Meghalaya.

  • 11:50 AM IST

    Meghalaya Counting And Results: BJP’s disappointing show in Meghalaya; only leading on 6 seats, Congress party leading in 21 seats, MPP leading in 17 seats.

  • 11:41 AM IST

    Meghalaya Counting And Results: Mukul Sangma Wins from both the seats. Congress leading in 21 seats, NPP winning in 17 seats.

  • 10:37 AM IST

    Meghalaya Counting And Results: The Congress Party is leading in 21 seats, BJP is tottering at 7 seats.

  • 10:14 AM IST

    Meghalaya Counting And Results: Congress party leading in 20 seats, NPP in 16 seats. The BJP is leading in 7 seats.

  • 10:07 AM IST

    Meghalaya Counting And Results: The Congress party is leading in 19 seats, NPP leading in 15 seats.

  • 9:56 AM IST

    Meghalaya Counting And Results: The Congress party is slowly emerging as the single largest party. Trends showed that the party is leading in 20 seats, whereas the BJP is lagging behind with lead on 6 seats. The NPP is leading in 14 seats.

  • 9:50 AM IST

    Meghalaya Results: The BJP is now leading in 6 seats, but still far behind the Congress party.

  • 9:41 AM IST

    Meghalaya Results: The Indian National Congress is leading in 18 seats, whereas the NPP is leading in 14 seats. The BJP is leading in 5 seats.