New Delhi, March 2: The re-polling at a booth in Meghalaya’s Raliang Assembly constituency on Thursday recorded 86 per cent voter turnout peacefully. Voting for 59 assembly constituency of the state’s 60 constituencies, held on February 27, where voter turnout was 84.86 per cent.Also Read - Tip Tip Barsa Paani...! 6 Most Romantic Places In India For Perfect Honeymoon During Monsoons

On Thursday evening, Meghalaya’s Chief Electoral Officer said mismatch in the voter verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) forced the Election Commission for re-polling in the Kyndongtuber both under the Railing constituency in West Jainta Hills district. Also Read - Monsoons In Meghalaya: Video Shows Roaring Waterfall In The World’s Wettest Place. Hint: It Isn't Cherrapunji

“Today afternoon the VVPAT at the booth was replaced but the machine taken as a replacement from the adjoining Mowkaiaw constituency was giving different prints. Re-polling was recommended as the VVPAT helped us identify the human error,” State Chief Election Officer Fredrick Roy Kharongor said. Also Read - Assam Floods: Parts Of North East Remain Inaccessible As National Highway-6 Blocked By Landslides

According to a report out of 628 voters under the Kydongtuber booth, 544 exercised their franchise.

Moments before re-polling was completed in Meghalaya at the lone booth, the Election Commission ordered re-poll in 11 booths of eight Assembly constituencies in Nagaland on Friday.

The constituencies which went for poll today are Peren, Kohima Town, Meluri, Tizit, Chizami, Pungro-Kiphire and Longkhim-Chare.

In Tizit, a person was injured after some miscreants lobbed a bottle grenade before voting started on February 27.

Peren is the home constituency of Nagaland Chief Minister TR Zeilang.

“The voting tomorrow (Friday) at the 11 booths will be done between 7 am and 3 pm,” Mr. Sinha said.

Unlike Meghalaya, voting in Nagaland last month was marked by violence. In one of the incidents, a person was killed and two others injured when supporters of the ruling Naga People’s Front and BJP-Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party alliance clashed in Akuluto seat.

Counting of votes in Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura, which voted on February 18, is scheduled on Saturday.