New Delhi, June 19: People Democratic Party’s (PDP) Mehbooba Mufti on Tuesday, June 19, submitted her resignation as Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir to Governor NN Vohra. The turn in the Jammu and Kashmir politics came moments after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), at a press conference, announced that it is pulling out of the “untenable” alliance with the PDP.

“We have taken a decision, it is untenable for BJP to continue in alliance with PDP in Jammu & Kashmir, hence we are withdrawing… in order to bring control over the situation prevailing in the state we have decided  that the reigns of power in the state be handed over to the Governor,” senior BJP leader and party’s national general secretary Ram Madhav said.

Soon after the BJP-PDP alliance split in the state, the former Chief Minister of J&K Omar Abdullah met Governor NN Vohra and demanded Governor’s rule in the state following the alliance break up and maintained that they will not be supporting PDP. “I have told Governor that since no party has the mandate to form the government, he will have to impose Governor rule in the state,” he said.

PDP’s Mehbooba Mufti also told the Governor that the party is “not looking to explore any other alliance”.


With no party coming forward to offer alliance and Mufti backing out from any more alliances, there are chances that the state might be heading towards a Governor’s rule. However, it is not the first time that Governor’s rule is being imposed in the state of Jammu and Kashmir. If Governor’s rule is imposed in the state, it will be imposed for the eighth time.

In an 87-member Jammu and Kashmir assembly, PDP had 28 MLAs while the BJP had 25 MLAs. The National Conference (NC) had 15 MLAs and the Congress party had 12 members. The other parties had the rest seven seats.

Here’s a look at the previous Governor’s rule in Jammu and Kashmir:

March 26, 1977, to July 9, 1977: The first Governor’s rule was imposed on March 26, 1977, to July 9, 1977, after Congress pulled out of an alliance with Sheikh Abdullah led National Conference (NC).

March 6, 1986, to November 7, 1986: The second Governor’s rule was from March 6, 1986, to November 7, 1986, due to no majority being proved on the floor of the House.

January 19, 1990 to October 9, 1996: The third for a total of 6 years and 264 days following failure to maintain law and order in teh state.

October 18, 2002 to November 2, 2002: This Governor’s rule was after caretaker CM Farooq Abdullah refused to continue following his party’s defeat in the assembly elections.

July 11, 2008 to January 5, 2009: The Governor’s rule was imposed for the fifth time for 174 days after the PDP withdrew support from Congress-PDP coalition government.

January 9, 2015 to March 1, 2015: The reason for the Governor’s rule for the sisth time was hung assembly.

January 8, 2016 to April 4, 2016: The 87-day Governor’s rule was imposed after the death of Mufti Mohammad Sayeed.