New Delhi, Sept 1: The ministry reshuffle on Sunday – third under the tenure of Prime Minister Narendra Modi – is expected to feature nearly a dozen new faces. A major revamp is on the lines, reports say, keeping in view the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

The ministers to be shuffled and removed, along with the new faces to be inducted, would be based upon a range of parameters, including performance, seniority and affiliation to poll-bound states.

Ahead of the reshuffle exercise, six ministers of the Modi government stepped down. They include: Uma Bharti, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Faggan Singh Kulaste, Sanjeev Balyan, Bandaru Dattatreya and Mahendra Nath Pandey.

Reports claimed more leaders are likely on their way out to, to pave the entry of fresh faces in the central government.

Among names making the rounds in BJP circles include former Mumbai police commissioner Satypal Singh and senior MP Harish Dwivedi from Uttar Pradesh; Vinay Sahasrabuddhe from Maharashtra and Mahesh Giri from Delhi.

From poll-bound states, speculations are rife that Centre would induct senior lawmakers Prahlad Joshi, Suresh Angadi and Shobha Karandlaje from Karnataka, along with Prabhat Jha, Rakesh Singh and Prahlad Patel from Madhya Pradesh.

The Janata Dal (United), which recently returned to the NDA fold, is likely to be offered two ministerial berths. RCP Singh and Santosh Kumar are expected to be picked up in the ministry reshuffle.

The AIADMK, which was expected to join the NDA post merger of Panneerselvam and Palaniswami camps, would not join the government on Sunday. Reports said their inclusion in NDA has been put on hold by the party till it settles the internal conflict.

Late night on Friday, two parallel meetings were underway among the top saffron camp leaders. While Cabinet members Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley and Ravi Shankar Prasad met at Home Minister Rajnath Singh’s residence, BJP president Amit Shah held talks with RSS sarsanghchalak Mohan Bhagwat.

The meetings were reportedly held to deliberate upon the final list of inclusions and exclusions from the Modi government.