Mumbai, Aug 21: The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in 22 seats in the 95-seats Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation, counting for which is currently underway. The Shiv Sena is ahead in 6 seats, whereas the Congress was leading in 2 wards after counting till 11:00 am. Counting for the election results of Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation began at 10:00 am on Monday. Polling for the 94 of the 95 seats of Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation was held on Sunday. Due to heavy rains, the polling recorded 47 per cent voter turnout. Catch live updates on Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation Election Results here

In 2012 Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation Election, the BJP had won 29 seats and ruled the civic body for five years with support from Shiv Sena that had bagged 14 seats. Despite winning in 27 wards, the NCP remained out of power, while the Congress could grab just 19 seats. The Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation was once considered as a Congress-NCP bastion. To retain power, the BJP contested polls along with the Republican Party of India (RPI) of Ramdas Athawale, the Shiv Sena, Congress and NCP fought separately.

As many as 509 candidates of various parties contested the election for 95 seats of the Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation. The Congress has won one seat after one of its candidates was elected unopposed. The BJP triumphed in 8 of 10 municipal corporations earlier this year and won big in municipal councils across the state last year.

The BJP-Shiv Sena combine rules the Kalyan civic body, the Sena has an upper hand in Mumbai and Thane. While the Congress retained Bhiwandi-Nizampur civic body, the NCP held on to Navi Mumbai. The BJP controls Panvel civic body and shares power in Ulhasnagar and Vasai-Virar corporations.