Mumbai, Aug 21: The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won 32 out of the 94 seats that went to polls in Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation election. The BJP that had won 29 seats in 2012 election looks set to retain power. Shiv Sena, the former ally of BJP, has bagged 6 seats, whereas the Congress grabbed 4 seats so far. The NCP is yet to get a lead on any seats. The Sharad Pawar led party had bagged 27 seats in 2012. Counting of votes for the election results of Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation is still underway. Catch live updates on Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation election results here

Polling for the 94 of the 95 seats of Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation took place amid heavy rains on Sunday. As many as 509 candidates of various parties are in the fray. The election witnessed a four-cornered electoral battle between BJP, Shiv Sena, Congress and NCP. The BJP contested polls along with the Republican Party of India (RPI), while the Shiv Sena, Congress and NCP fought separately. Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation Election Results Winners List: Check Names of Winning MBMC 2017 Candidates of BJP, Shiv Sena, Congress, NCP

Of the 10 municipal corporations that went to polls earlier this year, the BJP had won 8 bodies. It also made big gains in municipal councils across the state last year. The BJP-Shiv Sena combine rules the Kalyan civic body, the Sena has an upper hand in Mumbai and Thane. While the Congress retained Bhiwandi-Nizampur civic body, the NCP held on to Navi Mumbai. The BJP controls Panvel civic body and shares power in Ulhasnagar and Vasai-Virar corporations.