Aizwal: In a big jolt to the Congress, Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla has lost both the seats he contested from, for the assembly election 2018. The Chief Minister Champhai South seat to MNF’s TJ Lalnuntluanga, while another one, Serchhip to Zoram People’s Movement’s (ZPM) chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma.Also Read - Mizoram Assembly Election 2018: MNF Comes Back to Power in North-eastern State, Bags 26 Seats; Congress Suffers 'Humiliating' Defeat

In Champai South,  Lal Thanhawla was defeated by Mizo National Front’s T.J. Lalnuntluanga by 1,049 votes while in Serchhip he was defeated by an Independent Lalduhoma by 410 votes. Also Read - Assembly Election Results 2018! As BJP Swamped by Congress, Sensex, Nifty Shine; 6 Key Points That Changed Markets Today

Thanhawla, who was the Congress party’s Chief Minister for 10 years, had won the Serchhip seat last time by 734 votes. With MNF leading on 28 of the 40 Vidhan Sabha seats currently, the party is looking set to unseat the Congress in Mizoram, the only state in the northeast the Congress was ruling. Also Read - Mizoram Assembly Election 2018: CM Lal Thanhawla Loses Champhai South Vidhan Sabha Seat to MNF; Congress Headed to Defeat in Its Northeastern Bastion

The stats, along with the Chief Minister’s defeat in both his constituencies, gives a clear indication that the Congress is set to lose power after a decade.

MNF has already begun celebrations, anticipating victory in the northeastern state. For live updates on Mizoram Assembly Election 2018, click here. To check the winners’ list, check here.

Meanwhile, as per exit polls prediction, the Congress seems headed towards losing bitterly to Opposition MDF in the state. This would mean the grand old party losing the only state it had in N-E. For Mizoram, Zee News Maha Exit poll has predicted 18 seats for the MNF while the Congress’ tally would drop to 16 from 34 in 2013. According to Times Now-CNX, MNF will attain 18 seats while the Congress will win 16 seats. The exit polls by Republic-C-Voter showed the MNF getting between 16 and 20 seats. In the 40-seat Assembly, 21 seats would mean a clear majority.

Furthermore, apart from Mizoram, the counting of votes is going on in other fours states as well. To get the fastest updates on Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Telangana and Chhattisgarh vote counting, CLICK HERE. Also, for well-rounded coverage and live updates visit our elections special page You can also like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.