Aizawl: Mizoram Assembly Election 2018 on all the 40 Vidhan Sabha constituencies were held on November 28. Most exit polls have predicted that the MNF will race past the Congress. Zee News Maha Exit poll has predicted 18 seats for MNF while the Congress’ tally would drop to 16 from 34 in 2013.

According to Times Now-CNX, MNF will attain 18 seats while the Congress will win 16 seats. The exit polls by Republic-C-Voter showed the MNF getting between 16 and 20 seats.

A total of 73 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the single-phase election on 40 Assembly seats.

The Congress had won 34 seats in the 2013 Assembly elections. Incumbent Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla has said that he will not ally with any of the Opposition parties even if his party fails to secure a majority. He is running for a third straight term and facing a tough contest from MNF’s Zoramthanga.

Major political parties are the Congress, the Mizo National Front (MNF), Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC), the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), former Lok Sabha speaker PA Sangma’s National People’s Party (NPP) and Sharad Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

The ruling Congress, the Opposition MNF and the BJP have fielded candidates in all the 40 constituencies. Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) is contesting 35 seats of the 40 seats. Another small party, PRISM, has fielded 15 nominees.

The counting of the votes polled in the Mizoram Assembly Election 2018 will take place on December 11, along with other four states.