New Delhi: The counting of votes for Model town assembly seat in Delhi was carried out amid high security. AAP’s Akhilesh Pati Tripathi won the seat, by defeating Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)’s Kapil Mishra by a margin of over 10 per cent votes. Also Read - Deploy Resources in Saving Lives Instead of Building PM's New House: Priyanka Gandhi

The Model Town constituency is a crucial seat of the Delhi Assembly that falls under the Chandi Chowk district. The seat is currently held by two-time winner Akhilesh Pati Tripathi from the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). Also Read - BJP to Hold Nationwide Dharna on May 5 Against Widespread Violence Post Bengal Election Results

The Model Town seat will witness a triangular battle between the AAP, BJP, and Congress. While AAP has fielded Tripathi again to score a hat-trick, the BJP has fielded former AAP minister and friend-turned-foe of Arvind Kejriwal, Manoj Mishra, from the seat. Meanwhile, the Congress candidate for the Model Town is Akansha Ola. Also Read - Tamil Nadu Election Results 2021: Here's Full List of Winners Constituency-wise

A relatively smaller constituency, Model Town has 1,67,679 voters, with 68475 women and 3 third gender electors. It is an affluent neighbourhood near Delhi University and is often referred to be the preferred location for the “traditional rich” of Delhi.

Delhi Assembly Election Result 2020 LIVE Streaming on ZEE News

The area is surrounded by popular localities including Hudson Lines, Old Gupta Colony, Vijay Nagar, Kalyan Vihar, Gujranwala Town, Guru Tegh Bahadur Nagar as well as Delhi University.

Recently, the Model Town seat came under limelight after BJP candidate Kapil Mishra made a controversial tweet in which he likened the upcoming Assembly elections to an India versus Pakistan contest. An FIR was lodged against Mishra following directions of the poll authorities.

With Mishra choosing the opposition this time, Model Town is set to be one of the most hotly contested seats this election.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 Vote Counting Live Updates on Election Commission of India Website

For latest News and Live Updates on Election Results from each Assembly constituency in Delhi, visit our Assembly Elections page. You can also like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.

Live Updates

  • 4:45 PM IST
    Model Town Election Result Live Updates: AKHILESH PATI TRIPATHI of AAP won the Model Town assembly seat.
  • 2:15 PM IST

  • 1:42 PM IST

    Model Town Election Result Live Updates: Akhilesh Pati Tripathi from AAP maintains lead from Model Town.

  • 12:11 PM IST

    Model Town Election Result Live Updates: Akhilesh Pati Tripathi from AAP is leading from Model Town, as per latest updates by the EC.

  • 8:42 AM IST

    Model Town Election Result Live Updates: As per latest updates by the Election Commission (EC), BJP’s Kapil Mishra is leading from the seat.