New Delhi: Amid unprecedented precautionary measures against COVID-19, the 18-day monsoon session of parliament begins on Monday. The session will commence with both the upper and lower Houses paying obituary references to former President Pranab Mukherjee and other sitting and former members who have died during the interregnum period.Also Read - Cyclone Jawad To Hit Odisha, Andhra Pradesh Tomorrow, NDRF Deploys 64 Teams in 3 States | Key Points

While the Lok Sabha would sit from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Monday — day one of the session — while the Rajya Sabha will function from 3 p.m. to 7 p.m. On all other days, the Rajya Sabha would function from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. and the Lok Sabha would function from 3 p.m. to 7 p.m., including on Saturdays and Sundays. Also Read - Delhi-Dehradun Economic Corridor: You Will Soon Reach Delhi From Dehradun in Just 2.5 Hours | All You Need to Know

“The Session will provide a total of 18 sittings spread over a period of 18 days (all the days including Saturdays and Sundays of the ensuing session will be working days) and a total of 47 items, including 45 bills and 2 financial items, have been identified for being taken up during the Monsoon Session, 2020,” said Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs in an official release. Also Read - BSF Celebrates 57th Raising Day, To Exchange Sweets With Pakistan On Attari-Wagah Border

However, this time the parliament session would be different as there will be no question hour and private members’ bills will not be taken up in the upcoming monsoon session of Parliament, while the Zero Hour will be restricted.

Besides, an all-party meeting was also scrapped on the eve of the Monsoon Session. Generally, before every session of Parliament, an all-party meeting is held by both the government as well as the Speaker and Rajya Sabha Chairman to discuss the issues and the list of Bills to be introduced in the session. However, this time the agendas were set in Business Advisory Committee (BAC) meeting.

The Monsoon Session will continue till October 1. The government has listed 23 Bills for the session, including those pertaining to 11 ordinances.

Live Updates

  • 8:48 PM IST

    Monsoon Session LIVE: Amid uproar from Opposition, Rajya Sabha adopts motion to do away with Question Hour and private members’ business during Monsoon session amid the coronavirus pandemic.

  • 7:34 PM IST

    Monsoon Session LIVE: Meeting of the Union Cabinet scheduled to be held at 1.30 pm tomorrow, at Parliament House.

  • 7:25 PM IST

    Monsoon Session LIVE: Defence Minister expected to make a statement on India-China border standoff in Ladakh during Lok Sabha session tomorrow.

  • 7:24 PM IST

    Monsoon Session LIVE: Rajya Sabha adjourned till 9 am tomorrow.

  • 6:59 PM IST

  • 6:18 PM IST

    Monsoon Session LIVE: This was not a matter between two individuals, says RJD MP Manoj Jha who contested RS Chairman post, quoting Ahmad Faraz and adding, “Tu mohabbat se koi chaal to chal, haar jaane ka hausala hai mujhme (Make a move with love, I have the strength to accept defeat).”

  • 5:55 PM IST

    Monsoon Session LIVE: After becoming an MP, Harivanshi Ji has always ensured how all MPs can become more dutiful. The journalist inside him has stayed alive, the Prime Minister adds.

  • 5:38 PM IST

    Monsoon Session LIVE: The respect I hold for Harivansh Ji, each member of the House shares. He has earned this respect. His unbiased role in the Parliament strengthens our democracy, says Prime Minister Modi in Rajya Sabha.

  • 5:36 PM IST

    Monsoon Session LIVE: This is the second time he has been elected as the deputy chairman of the House. I congratulate him. He has been just to members of all parties, says Congress Rajya Sabha MP Ghulam Nabi Azad on the election of NDA’s Rajya Sabha deputy chairman candidate Harivansh.

  • 5:27 PM IST